Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 14 to 13

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    north western az.
    Posts
    6

    14 to 13

    can u install a 14 seer condensor with a 13 seer indoor coil? if not why? there couldn't be that much difference in the indoor coils could there?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Zelienople, Pa
    Posts
    2,965
    It depends...
    Is it an ARI rated match? If so, yes. If not, no.
    How tall are you Private???!!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    6,432

    Exclamation Match It

    Quote Originally Posted by glacierman2 View Post
    can u install a 14 seer condensor with a 13 seer indoor coil? if not why? there couldn't be that much difference in the indoor coils could there?
    No one should recommend a combination that can not be verified as an ARI match.

    Why?
    It is not really supported by the manufacturer.
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,793
    Waste of money to do it. You won't get the efficiency your paying for from the condenser.
    Possible you could get less then 13SEER.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Round Rock
    Posts
    3,662
    You can't really make a broad statement that it won't work. It depends on the manufacturer. You need to check the ARI. A lot of times the coils will be the same for a 13 or 14 SEER.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,793
    Actually, the ID coil doesn't have a SEER rating.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,613
    Very good, been. I figured it would be Robo that pointed that out!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,793
    Haven't seen him posting much, so I thought I'd stand in for him on this one.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event