Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    cleaning lineset for 410

    Is it necessary to replace the lineset for 410 or can the systems really be flushed properly?

    Thx,

    DougandLiz

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Posts
    1,051
    As long as the lines are sized properly they can be flushed and used over. We do it when we can not change the lines. If lines are open and can be changed then it is always a good idea to change them.
    Its a good Life!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    The crowd here is split on that question.

    I say blow the lines out with Nitrogen,some say flush,some say replace.

    We have yet to see an isssue ,and have been installing R410a/Puron since the late 1990's.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Naples, Fl
    Posts
    889
    No and we not into the flushing thing either. Good refrigeration practice is still in order though. A wiff of nitrogen, good solder, good deep vaccum and if necessary clean up with filter driers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Quote Originally Posted by DougandLiz View Post
    Is it necessary to replace the lineset for 410 or can the systems really be flushed properly?

    Thx,

    DougandLiz
    Thats a broad question that can only get you a yes or no answer. Each job is different.

    1. Is the current line size the line sized called for with the new equipment? If not, clean up is a moot point.

    2. What was the failure mode if any on the previous system? Heavy burn out? This has some bearing.

    3. Do you expect say a 16 year old line set to hold up for another 16 years? Hard to say, but a line set failure can cause catastrophic equipment failure not covered in any warranty.

    I guess there are more, you just have to take the risk you are comfortable with.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    12
    Is there a difference between blow the lineset and flashing? I have always change lineset if they want warranty when switching from r22 to r410.
    Last edited by tech55; 06-01-2008 at 04:24 AM. Reason: spelling

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,755
    Blow out usually means use nitrogen to pressure out any contaiminats.
    And flush would be using a chemical.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kathleen, Georgia
    Posts
    68
    Rx11 flush

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    12
    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event