Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876

    Found this little gem today....

    Not really sure what they were thinking. Unit has been serviced twice that they could remember, once for a fan motor and once about a month ago when "uncle Joe" put some refridgerant in because he "thought" it was low.


    Found the following:

    1. Blower motor pulling high amps in furnace, could have been due to the amount of dirt built up in the blower wheel...the fins were completely full
    2. Compressor capacitor rated at 20 mfd was actually reading 14.7 mfd
    3. Fan motor capacitor rated at 5 mfd was actually reading 2.1 mfd
    4. Fan blade had a 3 inch crack in it
    5. Both valve cores were leaking to the point you could hear the hiss when you took off the caps (explains why I needed channel locks to get them off)
    6. Unit was sitting in 3 inches of water under the deck
    7. Needed 17 degrees of superheat for proper charge...actual reading was 3 degrees

    This stuff never ceases to amaze me!
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    I need a new signature.....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Afton, VA / Khorat, Thailand
    Posts
    2,469
    Jeez....some people will put those things anywhere....
    Tough times don't last...Tough people do.

    Midnight Sun Astrophotography

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,840
    but didn't you feel better when you left, might have been cheaper for them to replace,,
    it's rheem runs like a dream

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,460
    I just quoted relocating a condenser so a friends neighbor could build a deck. I did not hear anything back and I bet it will end up like this. Thats great.
    "It's always controls"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,473
    At least the DISCHARGE wasn't under the deck!


    He wont let you sell him a new unit. Not a GOODMAN anyway.

















    Because it will be too tall to stay flush with his deck!!!
    True Heavy Metal Geek

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Somewhere in the midwest
    Posts
    405
    It took more time to frame that thing then it would have took to move it.
    Sound installation practices is the key to success. Equipment is only as good as the person installing it.

    If I can't fix it, it ain't broke.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    930
    My son in law did that same thing instead of calling me to move it.

    He did call later to have me install a new one when the compressor blew...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    24
    I certainly agree on the location but you might consider the furnace motor high amp draw. Plugged fins or anything that causes a reduction in airflow will reduce amperage draw. Probably the capacitor reduced capacitance caused the high amp draw

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Quote Originally Posted by PaysonHVAC View Post
    At least the DISCHARGE wasn't under the deck!

    He wont let you sell him a new unit. Not a GOODMAN anyway.


    Because it will be too tall to stay flush with his deck!!!

    Actually there was a nice little "cover" that goes over top of that unit and fills in the hole when the unit is not in use. Of course this makes no sense to me because chances are here in Ohio if your AC isn't being used you aren't spending a whole lot of time out on your deck either!

    As far as the GOODMAN...well you're right it would be way too tall for that spot and would look way too nice sitting on that crappy deck!
    I need a new signature.....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Quote Originally Posted by lassie View Post
    I certainly agree on the location but you might consider the furnace motor high amp draw. Plugged fins or anything that causes a reduction in airflow will reduce amperage draw. Probably the capacitor reduced capacitance caused the high amp draw
    I agree however this motor was in a 23 year old matching Ruud furnace....original motor and no capacitor to speak of. I think more than anything it was age, but the fur coat it was wearing probably didn't help much either!
    I need a new signature.....

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Quad Cities, IL
    Posts
    156
    Quote Originally Posted by PaysonHVAC View Post
    At least the DISCHARGE wasn't under the deck!


    He wont let you sell him a new unit. Not a GOODMAN anyway.





    Because it will be too tall to stay flush with his deck!!!

    All you have to do is dig a hole so that its level with the deck....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    24
    I just thought of a possible senario. Some of the Ruud furnaces used a 850 RPM direct drive motor which is unavailiable. If the motor is not original it may have been replaced with a 1050 or 1150 which will not work, they will overdraw every time. I know because I have tried it. Just a possible thought.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    houston, texas
    Posts
    3,787
    I found 2 units just like that about 10 years ago, what a job... how stupid can you be?
    I'm not tolerating Political Correctness anymore, from now on it's tell it like it is.

    Veto Pro Pak - The best tool bag you'll ever own






Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event