Thread: Grease gun?

Post Likes

Grease gun?

Buying my first grease gun, definately want pistol grip style. Now, should I go the cheapest or go with a high quality, like Lincoln. And what psi rating is good for us? i read elsewhere pillow blocks and others bearings only need up to 500psi.
    Any insight would be appreciated!

Post Likes
    It's not the grease gun but the grease you put in it. I have a small gun I purchased from Johnstone supply. Grainger will have a gun for you. I suggest buying a flex hose and a few differant fittings to make your bearing grease jobs easier. Fitz...
    Chaos equals cash$$$

Post Likes
    Make sure whatever grease you buy is compatible with the grease in the bearings. Some greases are not compatible with each other. A mid range quality gun will be enough. Flexible hose for those hard to reach places, and a straight solid sometime's useful too.

Post Likes
    I am now a mechanical service mechanic and came from the marine industry (servicing commercial/pleasure).

I have been using the Alemite grease guns for nearing two decades. I carry three on my service truck.

One for lithium based grease for water pumps, one NLGI2 for general purpose and one for Polyurea for electric motors...

The Alemite pistol grip guns have a pressure/volume selector and the don't drool all over the place.

GT
    If a day goes by and you have learned nothing, I hope you got a lot of sleep.

Post Likes
    Whatever you get you will soon hate it. All grease guns suck.

Sent via ESP...
    Experience - knowing when to get the hell out of the way and plug your ears. "Don't be a sissy. Turn it on!"

Poodle Head Mikey - "the world is well populated with the unknowing and the uncaring and the stupid."

Jtrammel - "I’m going to sell hvac systems derp derp derp"
    BBeerme - "every time he opens his mouth, he reminds me of a cow without the fart bag."

Post Likes