Pneumatic/DDC VAV Box Minimums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Arrow Pneumatic/DDC VAV Box Minimums

A little background on myself... I'm mechanical engineering student doing my third 6-month coop as a mechanical design engineer. I worked as a tech/engineer for Siemens last year, so I have some field experience with controls, but am a little foggy.
    I've been asking around my office about VAV box minimum airflows, but can never get a straight answer. We use a 40% rule of thumb for boxes with reheat, and 25-40%(depending on who you ask) for cooling only boxes. I know the lower limit for a VAV box (from box manf.) is based on the velocity transducer in the controls. I also know that a minimum can go below this and still work fine. It might hunt a little more, and is more likely to have problems, but will work.

What is a realistic minimum for a box? How low can you actually go and have the unit still control for typical pneumatic and DDC setups?

Thanks in advance..

The minimun setpoint of the box is the higher of :

1) The minimum velocity pressure operating point of the controller
    2) The minimum ventilation rate as per ASHRAE 62. Your offfice should have a copy, or you can go to the ASHRAE website & preview it.

Quote Originally Posted by flyrfan View Post
    The minimun setpoint of the box is the higher of :

1) The minimum velocity pressure operating point of the controller
    This is where the question comes from. If I'm doing a tenant improvement, reusing existing boxes, they may be slightly oversized... I'd like to know how low a unit can go so I can reuse as much as possible. I'd rather not have to put in a brand new unit because the minimum for the zone needs to be 10cfm less than what the manufacturer says the box can do... And if I start bumping minimums up to match the manufacturers numbers, I'll risk over-cooling the space...