Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What do I charge???

My friend has referred me to some people that want mini splits put in there houses or garages etc,. I'm not new to the installations and servicing end of it, but I'm new to wondering what to charge?????? Also, how can I get listings of unit price information. When I go to manufacturers sites, they never have there prices listed. Any help would be great. Thanx

pricing should only be at business & marketing
    I dont warranty Tinkeritus

Sounds like somebody wants to do side jobs.

Start your own company. The apply for pro membership.
    The you can ask pricing questions in the business forum as said above.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

I know of a salesman at a supply house who sells these jobs on the side to guys like you. You probably have no liability insurance, workers' comp insurance, dont pay taxes, use your employers vehicle, and undercut the industry. For those reasons alone I think we should all jump in and help you lower the standard of the rest of the industry by giving you pricing as well. Its funny, that salesguy actually called me this morning in a panic to bail him out because of a reefer job his "side job guys" cannot handle. Yeah right. Take a look at the other side of the business. If you think you have the skills and the financials to be self employed, jump in and join us, dont undercut the industry for a few bucks in your pocket.

Quote Originally Posted by Tommy1010 View Post
    I'm not new to the installations and servicing end of it
    You are new enough not to know how to price the job.

No harm in it ... it's for a reason. I'll tell you why you don't know how to price it.

Prices are set based on a number of factors.... including:

Insurance

Payment on the service van

Mortgage on the shop

Licensing costs

Training costs

Tool costs

I'll stop there for now...