Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

sheet metal fabrication instructional book/video

hello;

i work in the residential industry as a service tech and i am moving into learning installations of furnaces, ac, etc.

i am looking for an easy to follow book for learning sheet metal fabrication

any good ones out there?

thanks in advance

Books are necessary but what's really needed here is a good journeyman.
    "What Fools these mortals be"....Puck

Quote Originally Posted by hvacker View Post
    Books are necessary but what's really needed here is a good journeyman.
    I agree with you : most of the apprentices can’t even read!

What ^^^ said.

I'm not aware of any books/videos on how to work with sheet metal, but if you find some, let me know.

Sheet metal is really an art, and should be looked upon as such. You can get books on how to paint portraits, books on how to write childrens books and probably books on how to do surgery. They all would offer tips, but in the end it is really up to you, your abilities, experience and (in some cases) imagination.

I've got it good: I have a great guy teaching me and I have a great sheet metal guy to whom we can bring in measurements, pictures, explain the situation, what we want to achieve and then we all bounce around ideas.

Unless you're just talking about doing simple transitions for existing ductwork rather than full installation jobs - then that's a bit easier (though not always) and in a lot of cases, all you need is a measure up sheet, and a sheet metal guy to make the transition(s).

Whether or not you have a mentor journeyman present to help you learn layout, these books are the best there is.

http://www.northwaysmachinery.com/pr...ay.asp?cat=143

Try this site:sheetmetalworld.com,Good luck

What an age we live in!

Thanks for the sites guys.