Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 26

Thread: Pro IAQ stats

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Rochelle Il / Chicago
    Posts
    169

    Hmm Pro IAQ stats

    OK

    Programed IAQ stat so fan would run in evenings.

    Not running a/c or heat now and windows are open.

    Don't want fan to run but it won't shut off. Stat reading fan = auto /on

    only way i can turn fan off is to change program.

    have this problem with all Pro IAQ stats

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Central MD, Carroll County
    Posts
    88
    honeywell focus pro stat? Fan in auto will alow fan to run only when calling for heat or cooling, on runs all the time. If I no what stat may be able to provide more info

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Grottoes VA
    Posts
    5,856
    He told you what stat it was.

    If you programmed it that way thats how it will work. You can turn the breaker off to the furnace for a quick fix.
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,120
    I you have the programs set for on, you have to go back into set up, and program it to fan auto.
    If you say you already did this. Theres a chance you missed one of the events. Leave,or sleep maybe.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Rochelle Il / Chicago
    Posts
    169
    OK

    here we go

    You all aren't hearing me or some thing

    if you program the heat to run @ 70 it does. right?

    if you have the ability to program the Fan operation as well, fan on , fan circ, fan auto, shouldn't you be able to turn fan off when you open window?

    for ex. --- 64 out side, I want to open window, don't want fan to run and filter out side air, fan is programed to run in the evening, I turn fan to auto but it reads auto - on. This is a problem with all Honeywell touch screen stas.

    If you haven't used these stats, you won't be able to help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Grottoes VA
    Posts
    5,856
    You have to turn the fan to auto in the programming, or turn the power off to the furnace. If you this is only going to be a temp. thing I would turn the power off.
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    As other said, you need to shut off the power or reprogram it.

    I program my fan in AUTO all summer, then comes fall, then back to Circ at night, and On other times.

    That is the down fall on Honeywell, I did send a suggestion about able to do something on the main screen.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,120
    The program fan setting over rides the manual auto, off setting.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45

    Same Problem

    I had the same problem and ending up going through all four periods of each day of the week to purge out the offending "fan on" setting (just as others have suggested). If the program is in Auto, then you can override manually to "on" or "circ" without a problem. But if the fan is in "on" or "circ" it doesn't seem like you can override to "auto" because auto is using the program to determine fan operation...

    I think this is a really cool feature of the stat, once I figured out how to take advantage of it. Now I only use the "circ" or "on" settings only during certain periods on certain days. Or I manually put the fan in "on" or "circ" when I want more air movement.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,120
    What I can't figure out.
    Is why people that like to open their windows to let fresh air in. Don't want the fan to run to move that fresh air to all rooms, and to run that fresh dust carring air through the air filter, to keep the air in the house cleaner?
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Just North of Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by tomgeer View Post
    OK

    here we go

    You all aren't hearing me or some thing

    if you program the heat to run @ 70 it does. right?

    if you have the ability to program the Fan operation as well, fan on , fan circ, fan auto, shouldn't you be able to turn fan off when you open window?

    for ex. --- 64 out side, I want to open window, don't want fan to run and filter out side air, fan is programed to run in the evening, I turn fan to auto but it reads auto - on. This is a problem with all Honeywell touch screen stas.

    If you haven't used these stats, you won't be able to help.
    Just a thought ....

    When I want to open a window and cool down the house without worrying about the AC coming on, I set the therm to a much higher setting and press the hold button. Or if I just want to have the windows open till I go to bed and not have to worry about the program (Therm not allowed to control AC) I set the temp up and use the Temporary Setting. After a predetermined time the therm goes bask into program mode.

    Not sure if yours allows that but I have a Honeywell 6000.

    Hope this helps ....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    What I can't figure out.
    Is why people that like to open their windows to let fresh air in. Don't want the fan to run to move that fresh air to all rooms, and to run that fresh dust carring air through the air filter, to keep the air in the house cleaner?
    I used to leave it alone in the past, then I was thinking, Ok, I am not really gaining anything since I open all the windows in the house and get good cross breeze, so why should I load up my media filter up with dust, and waste electricity running the blower? And, as lot of us preach, leave the fan ON in A/C mode add humidity in some home..

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,120
    Agree that fan "on" in cooling mode will raise humidity, from wet coils, and or duct leakage.
    But if you have the program set for recirc, to prevent stagnation from long system off times. Or use a high MERV air filter to keep the dust down. Why not use fan recirc with the windows open to keep that dust from collecting all over the house.

    I don't have an answer, I just pose the question.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event