Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 36
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    9

    Need help: Noisy air flow with new heat pump system

    I just got rid of the old fuel oil furnace for heatpump with electric backup. The noise and draft from the extra air movement was unexpected and now I'm wishing I would have kept the old system. Would I have been better off to go with propane or back to fuel oil? Is there something I can do to correct this? With my old system I couldn't even here it run. I have a 4 ton goodman system with vairiable speed motors.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6,285
    You can't get the company that installed it to come back?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,317
    Call the contractor back, to come and check it out.
    If the ducts are too small, then he needs to tell you what it will take to fix the duct system.
    Was a load calc done, or did they just size it off the sq ft of your house.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    What size A/C system did you have before??

    Sonuds like the ducts are undersized or the fan is set to high.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    9
    He came out and looked at my ductwork before I ordered . My house is 1500sq ft not including a full finished basement. My old cooling sytem was rated at 3000btu. I'll have to have him come back out. With most new systems now, do they move more air because the heat doesn't get as hot? With my old system I couldn't even hear when it turned on for cooling or heating. Should it be that way with the new system? Thanks for the replies.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,317
    Do you mean 30,000 BTU's for the A/C?

    Sounds grossly oversized for 1500 sq ft.

    How many estimates did you get for this replacement.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    9
    It is a 10 seer rheem for cooling but the coil in the old furnace said 3000btu. When figuring my sqft do you include the basement so instead of 1500 it would be 3000. He said I had to go with a 4ton because it wouldn't be enough heat for here in Minnesota. It would be on the backup heat too often. I can't find anything for size on the old air conditioning unit but I think the heat pump was sized more for heat. I had three bids for the project, 2 bid 4 ton, 1 bid 3 ton.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6,285
    ...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Do you mean 30,000 BTU's, Sounds grossly oversized for 1500 sq ft..

    nah, but they probably replaced the 2-1/2 with a bigger system!



    .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    657
    i would have the co. who put it in come back and check duct sizes and also blower speed. as for the heat pump i'm assuming where you live in minnesota it gets very cold, i'm n ot a fan of heat pumps in extremely cold temps even with electric heat.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,302
    Gasp! 4 ton for 1500 sq ft, no wonder it is noisy. Going from 2.5 to 4 ton on the same duct system? No wonder it is noisy. What brand is it? Oh yea...

    Sorry, you have a real mess on your hands.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,371
    Ask the contractor who sold you the system to do a load calc. to prove his sizing technique, if he stands behind his work.

    Is the basement actually conditioned (heated/cooled)?

    Heat pumps are typically sized for cooling, not heating.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,189
    Me thinks his installer doesn't understand air flow and duct sizing.
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event