Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Marion, IL
    Posts
    59

    bryant gas furnaces

    there are four of these systems in this churchs little mechanical room if 1 furnace ever fails and has to be changed out, you would be looking at tearing out at least 2 units just to get 1 out
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Afton, VA / Khorat, Thailand
    Posts
    2,468
    I especially like that gas hook up in the first pic. Didn't like the hole in the cabinet? That OK'd by the Revrend?

    Can you say 72 Virgins.....???
    Tough times don't last...Tough people do.

    Midnight Sun Astrophotography

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    yakima washington
    Posts
    49
    if one fails the rest will also . i don't like the gas piping . i do like gastite but not into the unit like first pic that will not fly in my area they would pull the meter . inspectors are my favorite. had one ask me today where my permit was for my low voltage wire . he was there for the sparky not me. had to get class b on the panel asap

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Darby, PA
    Posts
    541
    Have a school like that, in the basement equipment room there are 7 York condensing furnaces all in a row. Had to replace two last winter, needed to remove one to get to two. A bit time consuming, but a good install. Don't like the gastite into the unit like that, at least should be attached to a hard nipple with a valve.

  5. #5
    I wish I could say that I have never seen that before but I would not be telling you the truth. I want to know who inspected that one. OH I forgot that was that service tech that cant make it in the real world and trys to moonlight. God help us all, and we wounder why we have a bad rap

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7

    Bryant FAF



    WHY? do installers (not all of them) place the evaporator tight to the top of the furnace?? Are there not codes to follow Stateside regarding this?? I'm not trying to single anyone out here but it's a costly repair charge to try and clean these properly when installed like this.
    Roy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Here and there
    Posts
    4,803
    Is that a Fowler job ?
    i belong to peta ... people eating tasty animals. all my opinions are just mine.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    In a freezer or in an attic somewhere
    Posts
    550

    Thumbs down

    WHY? do installers (not all of them) place the evaporator tight to the top of the furnace??

    For the life of me, I don't know. And to further the problem, the coil boxes are made to fit the top of the furnace. Along with the drain, copper, and flue pipe, all in the way.
    I guess the engineers figure it is a great place for the coil to sit. They most likely don't work on them. So it is all good from were they lay their head at night.
    It seems to me that it has been the dumbest decision they have made and there is no excuse for it to be manufactured like that. But that is the way it is and I don't think it will change.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event