Digi-Cool & YJ's
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southern Ca, Elkton Md
    Posts
    7,569

    Digi-Cool & YJ's

    Here is my new Digi-Cool & YJ clamp on temp probe made by Weber.

    Works great! Check it out.





    "Correct Installation is the Key"

    .1 has killed more HX then Rush Limbaugh

    What is your TESP?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Location:Raleigh NC
    Posts
    9,587
    Very very nice,

    Did you send a picture to Doug?

    Could you show a picture of the wire at the head and how you feed it thought the clamp.

    It's a better set up then mine with a hand clamp. I'll try to get a picture soon.
    If you help others then you are a Success

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southern Ca, Elkton Md
    Posts
    7,569
    I ran it through the clamp just like the original one, at the end I drilled a small hole to pull it through the clamp and then drilled the surface area to offset it and glued it in.





    "Correct Installation is the Key"

    .1 has killed more HX then Rush Limbaugh

    What is your TESP?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Central Kentucky
    Posts
    6,247
    Very cool weber!

    You finally found a used clamp eh?
    Have you set up a Google alert for Carbon Monoxide yet?
    Click here to find out how.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southern Ca, Elkton Md
    Posts
    7,569
    Quote Originally Posted by davidr View Post
    Very cool weber!

    You finally found a used clamp eh?
    Nope, I bought a brand new one.

    I couldnt find one, I looked on ebay and got tired of not finding any for the right price. Most of them were almost the same price as a new one and who knew if the clamp was really any good.

    So I went to the supply house and bought one. I used my old one to make the clamp, and replaced mine with the new one.
    "Correct Installation is the Key"

    .1 has killed more HX then Rush Limbaugh

    What is your TESP?

  6. #6
    Not too shabby Weber.

    Did'nt have a Fluke or Fieldpiece sitting around at the time.
    But the velcro had to go.

    Took a Irwin Quick-Grip 2" clamp hollowed out the left side with a Dremel.
    Siliconed the probe in place and the wire in the hollow of the clamp to retain it from moving.

    See from the photo that you have the 2nd generation probe wire.
    FEN

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southern Ca, Elkton Md
    Posts
    7,569
    Quote Originally Posted by the mojo View Post
    Not too shabby Weber.

    Did'nt have a Fluke or Fieldpiece sitting around at the time.
    But the velcro had to go.

    Took a Irwin Quick-Grip 2" clamp hollowed out the left side with a Dremel.
    Siliconed the probe in place and the wire in the hollow of the clamp to retain it from moving.

    See from the photo that you have the 2nd generation probe wire.
    The copper barrell end, I like this one much better then the original one,
    "Correct Installation is the Key"

    .1 has killed more HX then Rush Limbaugh

    What is your TESP?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    don't hate web, but am in the process of doing the same thing one of my co-workers was throwing away his old clamp because the wire had broke right at the end where it connects to the meter i was originally going to use my clamp and put the YJ sensor opposite of the FP original and double check every reading
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    720
    How long does it take to settle down and have a steady reading? The one I made takes abit to equalize the temp of the clamp.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Southern Ca, Elkton Md
    Posts
    7,569
    Quote Originally Posted by Reeferman View Post
    How long does it take to settle down and have a steady reading? The one I made takes abit to equalize the temp of the clamp.
    The same or quicker then using the velcro strap.
    "Correct Installation is the Key"

    .1 has killed more HX then Rush Limbaugh

    What is your TESP?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    clamping in itslef is faster than fooling around with 6 miles of velcro
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by beachtech View Post
    my co-workers was throwing away his old clamp because the wire had broke right at the end where it connects to the meter
    I fix mine when stuff like that happens.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    its broke right at the k-type connector. it would take more work than its worth to fix. so i am going to make what weber has made i started a couple weeks ago, but got side tracked.
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event