Thread: torch kit???

torch kit???

I've been doing residential service for about 2 years now, and i don't have much experience brazing. I've been told lately to get a torch kit (tank provided by company) and start practicing soldering and brazing on my own time and on the job. what set up would anyone recommend? i think I'm just looking for a turbo torch. I've also heard it called a B-tank.

Turbo torch and B tanks are two different things. I use oxy-actylene myself. I can get a nice hot flame and control it better than the B tanks.

What did you do before that you don't have a lot of torch time? I typically go through a set of tanks in about a week and a half. But that may be because we do a lot of new construction and our installers suck at brazing.

we have a small service dept, 7 to be exact. 3 of which are new to the trade.
    so only our 2 senior techs will do anything that takes any experience. And the closest i get to a cut and set would be helping them. and since I've been there a while i guess i would be more use full if i could do some of the harder jobs.
    Also i would like to be able to do plumbing repairs.
    what exactly is the difference of a turbo torch and a b-tank?

I have a oxy-actylene made by uniweld and a rose-bud tip (gets real hot) and Capt'n Hook tips,the kit came with a cutting touch but I never used it. I also have a Turbo Torch self igniting Air/Acetylene kit which uses a "B" tank and I keep an extra B-tank as back up
    If your not part of the solution, You must be part of the problem

A, B-Tank is the size of an Acetylene Bottle. I use an MC tank along with Oxygen for my Oxy-Actylene Rig.

The nameing of the Acetlyene bottles come from way way back. when head lamps on vehicles ran off of Acetlyene. B-tanks were used for Buses, and MCs were used on MotorCars.