+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Want to repurpose Jace microserver

Post Likes

Want to repurpose Jace microserver

I'm an service tech / instructor at my union apprentice training center and was giving a Pheonix controls jace micro server new and unused donated to the school. I'm unfamiliar with Niagara Ax. I'm a Trane tracer summit/ SC guy. So what I want to do is install the micro server at my school and hook it up to the existing Trane Lon network currently being controlled by a Trane Tracker panel. Also teach myself Niagara so I can also teach the students both Trane and tridium. Is it possible to repurpose the micro server and also how do I get my hand on the needed software to program it. Thanks

Post Likes
    The first thing you have to learn about AX is that nothing is free.

Want to use all the physical memory on your unit? That'll be a license upgrade.
    Want to have the unit reachable via a web browser? That'll be a license upgrade.
    Want to be able to make changes via a web browser? That'll be a license upgrade.
    Want to make your four year old system work with the latest java release? That'll be a license upgrade.

My point being that you will get dinged for anything and everything. To get the software, you typically have to pay an annual fee typically in the range of $2-3k. Do you know if your JACE has an open license? If so you can use any brand of AX. There may be other options out there on how to get a copy, but everyone I know seems to be in that position. If you get someone to load a station onto the JACE for you and it has the appropriate licenses, you can do most of you work from the web browser.