Help with New A/C Decision!!!

I'm a newbie here and would appreciate any help I can get. I am in the midst of getting quotes to replace my 16 year old Comfort Maker 3 ton system. The system is being held together with chewing gum, toothpicks and duct tape.

Here are my questions:

1) I live in Tampa, FL and have a 1786 sq ft single story block home with vaulted ceilings. Do I need a 3 ton or a 3.5 ton unit?

2) I have gotten quite a few quotes and have it narrowed down between a Trane or Carrier Unit. The prices are comparable, but I'm not sure which to go with. I've heard that the Trane units use aluminum coils and that can pose problems, but that's the only negatives I've heard and have only heard mostly positives on both manufacturers. Any thoughts either way?

3) Units quoted:

Trane: 3 ton, 14 Seer, Condenser 4twr3036A, Air handler 4teh3f36A

Carrier: 3.5 Ton Carrier Heat Pump condenser model 25HBA342 , air handler FY4ANF042

As I said, both units have comparable prices. Can anyone help shed some light on what would be the better unit or some pro's/con's of each? This is not a long-term house for us. We expect to be here less than five years but are tired of our OLD unit crashing every summer and want to replace before it gets too hot and want to make sure we make a good decision.

Thanks!

Your Trane quote is a 13 seer. not a 14 seer.

The aluminum coils are an improvement over copper for several reasons. The only downfall to aluminum coils is not many people can braze aluminum.....so they automatically call it a bad idea. But the alum. coils won't corrode out as quick as copper.

As fas as unit size, no way of telling from here. Proper load calc and duct design will be the determining factor there.