Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 21

Thread: Tempstar V90

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10

    Tempstar V90

    Hello folks,
    I just had a brand new Temstar V90 furnace installed and its driving me nuts, soooo I have a few questions.
    1. Is it possible to have 2 zone heating with this system. I had two zone and now have one zone and I cant tell you how much it sucks.
    2. There is a constant humming from the return downstairs closest to the furnace. What the heck could be that from?
    3. Any idea where I could locat a manual for this system since the rocker scientist who installed it drove away with it.
    Thanks again, sorry if I come off grumpy but I'm really pissed.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Quote Originally Posted by 72chevy View Post
    Hello folks,
    I just had a brand new Temstar V90 furnace installed and its driving me nuts, soooo I have a few questions.
    1. Is it possible to have 2 zone heating with this system. I had two zone and now have one zone and I cant tell you how much it sucks.
    2. There is a constant humming from the return downstairs closest to the furnace. What the heck could be that from?
    3. Any idea where I could locat a manual for this system since the rocker scientist who installed it drove away with it.
    Thanks again, sorry if I come off grumpy but I'm really pissed.
    Before everyone starts jumping all over this thread....why are you comming to us for help? I guess my question is....why are you not calling back your installing company and making sure that they make things right by you???
    I need a new signature.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,903
    1. Is it possible to have 2 zone heating with this system. I had two zone and now have one zone and I cant tell you how much it sucks.
    Yes - easily. (It's a two stage furnace) Call the installer back.

    2. There is a constant humming from the return downstairs closest to the furnace. What the heck could be that from?
    The blower motor is most likely running on low speed when there's no call for heating or cooling. If continuous operation is objectionable, set the t-stat fan switch to AUTO.


    3. Any idea where I could locat a manual for this system since the rocker scientist who installed it drove away with it
    He probably took it to prevent DIY repairs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    657

    good call

    good call bend metal. i would do exactly as suggested

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10
    Sorry, its just been one of those weeks.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated, I have called my install guy and he will be back on Saterday.
    I'm just loking to see if there are any solutions out there, or if this issue has come up before.
    Again, I mean no offence.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,108
    He probably took it to prevent DIY repairs.

    Even if that is his reason. Its bad form, since the customer paid for that manual. And it can screw up the next tech that may not be familar with that unit.

    If you had 2 zones before, why did your contractor convert it to one. Did you agree to this.
    Call him back and have him set up your furnace, like he should have.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by amd View Post
    Yes - easily. (It's a two stage furnace) Call the installer back.



    The blower motor is most likely running on low speed when there's no call for heating or cooling. If continuous operation is objectionable, set the t-stat fan switch to AUTO.




    He probably took it to prevent DIY repairs.

    Even when the system is set to Auto or off it still hums.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    He probably took it to prevent DIY repairs.

    Even if that is his reason. Its bad form, since the customer paid for that manual. And it can screw up the next tech that may not be familar with that unit.

    If you had 2 zones before, why did your contractor convert it to one. Did you agree to this.
    Call him back and have him set up your furnace, like he should have.
    I never agren to one zone, and its not stated in the sales contract, the dead giveaway is when I saw one thermostate. According to him it was not possible to make it two zones. We now have a bakery upstairs and a meat locker downstairs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Quote Originally Posted by 72chevy View Post
    Sorry, its just been one of those weeks.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated, I have called my install guy and he will be back on Saterday.
    I'm just loking to see if there are any solutions out there, or if this issue has come up before.
    Again, I mean no offence.
    No offense taken at all...as techs we know what you are going through....

    Is your fan always running? As stated above it could be the source of your noise.
    Why did you downgrade to a single zone (as asked above also)??

    The manual to that furnace should be hanging right next to it...the fact that he took it means he is clueless if you ask me. What about the next tech?

    As far as him coming back on Saturday....my company would have been back out there ten minutes after your call to make sure you were happy. Make sure you get the answers to your questions and make sure he takes care of things to your satisfaction.
    I need a new signature.....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,108
    Not to bust on you, but you hired the wrong contractor. Was he the lowest bid, or did you only get one bid.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Quote Originally Posted by 72chevy View Post
    I never agren to one zone, and its not stated in the sales contract, the dead giveaway is when I saw one thermostate. According to him it was not possible to make it two zones. We now have a bakery upstairs and a meat locker downstairs.
    At this point forget what I said and call someone who has a clue....sorry man but this guy has no idea what he is doing if he told you that the new furnace couldn't be zoned....especially when the old one was zoned
    I need a new signature.....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Not to bust on you, but you hired the wrong contractor. Was he the lowest bid, or did you only get one bid.
    Nope we had 4 bids, he was the second highest and came reccomended.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Hey Chevy....what part of the country are you in?
    I need a new signature.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event