Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    new evolution instal static proplem

    I am having a problem with high static pressure on a new evolution system.
    Any help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,178
    Make the duct bigger.
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

  3. #3
    we enlarged the return plenum with no improvement. we have a 36 inch long plenumwith 10 runs and a slab coil in a horizontal application.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    What is installed,model numbers?

    What has your installing contractor done so far,or suggested??

    Where?

    Can you post pictures of the unit and attached ducts?

  5. #5
    355aav024060. we have installed a larger r/a plenum and reposittioned the 16" and 10"r/a ducts to one side.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,997
    New Construction??? What Kind of filter? Did he do a manuel J and size the duct work accordingly. if not new construction is the duct system big enough for the amount of air of the new furnace? does the duct work bang on start up or shut down? are all the register and dampers open?
    Last edited by Pascone10; 03-24-2008 at 06:56 PM. Reason: forgot a question

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,875
    Both return ducts to one side.
    How close.

    Describe your duct system in detail, not just the plenums.
    Supply runs lengths, sizes, reister sizes, number of. Same for returns. lengths, grille sizes.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    6,837
    Total static includes both return and supply static. Fixing one without fixing the other doesn't solve the problem. A blower is an air pump. If it can't put out what it doesn't get in. Therefore, return air is always a big consideration. But once you've acheived a RA that supplies all the air the blower can handle, adding more RA won't change anything. You've also got to look at the supply side/output side of the blower. If it's restricted small ducts or small outlets or lots of poorly installed flex, supply static is high. Manual 'D' tells the tale.
    If YOU want change, YOU have to first change.

    If you are waiting for the 'other guy' to change first, just remember, you're the 'other guy's' other guy. To continue to expect real change when you keep acting the same way as always, is folly. Won't happen. Real change will only happen when a majority of the people change the way they vote!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Quote Originally Posted by harleyjbd View Post
    355aav024060. we have installed a larger r/a plenum and reposittioned the 16" and 10"r/a ducts to one side.
    Who is "we"??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event