Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    91

    how long is too long?

    How long is too long to run a condensing drain line from a unit in the atic?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    3,009
    As long as you have pitch i would like to think there would not be an issue. unless we are talking about a condensing unit in colder temps where freezing may be a problem. For really long lines why not a condensate pump with a float switch wired to shut the system off. i would put it in a pan with another switch to insure i don't wet any ceilings!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,069
    When its so long that you don't have a 1/4" per foot pitch, its too long.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    3,009
    i have 2 air handlers in a church that where set in the pans. when i was there for a service call they never had traps installed in their secondary pans installing traps could not be done without raising the units. there is one time i can remember i could not get 1/4" per 1'. the church was down the shore and the units needed to be replaced for other reasons. still waiting on a response from them.
    Last edited by Pascone10; 03-23-2008 at 03:50 PM. Reason: spelling

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by Pascone10 View Post
    i have 2 air handlers in a church that where set in the pans. when i was there for a service call they never had traps installed in their secondary pans installing traps could not be done without raising the units. there is one time i can remember i could not get 1/4" per 1'. the church was down the shore and the units needed to be replaced for other reasons. still waiting on a response from them.
    trap it into a condensate pump!



    .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    3,009
    could work but only two problems one system has a leak and the other the condenser coils are corroded from the salt air. ( they are not working so they don't need it lol

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Round Rock
    Posts
    3,559
    Quote Originally Posted by Pascone10 View Post
    i have 2 air handlers in a church that where set in the pans. when i was there for a service call they never had traps installed in their secondary pans installing traps could not be done without raising the units. there is one time i can remember i could not get 1/4" per 1'. the church was down the shore and the units needed to be replaced for other reasons. still waiting on a response from them.
    Why would you put a trap in a secondary drain pan? To the primary drain pan inside with the coil yes. But no reason for seconary.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    3,009
    yes the problem is the air handler sits inside the secondary pan ( not lifted ) there is a plywood floor and because the primary pan sits on the wood floor i cant get a trap out of the primary without it touching the floor. Like i said the units are down. that problem will not be over looked the second time around

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    91
    So as long as it has 1/4" per foot drop I should not have any problems. Great!

    This house I just bought has no trap on the drain and I don't like where the drain is run. The pan under the unit is fine and also has a safety switch.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    91
    Quote Originally Posted by Pascone10 View Post
    yes the problem is the air handler sits inside the secondary pan ( not lifted ) there is a plywood floor and because the primary pan sits on the wood floor i cant get a trap out of the primary without it touching the floor. Like i said the units are down. that problem will not be over looked the second time around
    can you not put a trap on the drain down the line farther away from the unit?

    whould this not work?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    3,009
    the location of the trap is not a problem as long as the job is still being done. and still the unit is too close the floor. it exits about 5 feet to the outside.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    3,009
    printman also be sure to keep everything nice, straight, and pitched or you may run into problems with a real long line. how long are you planning on running this?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Suppy NC
    Posts
    4,513
    i have ran some realy long drains over the years
    1/4 in pitch and trap at the unit
    vent every ten to fifteen ft. Make the vent stack higher ten the pan always.
    i like to use an easy trap and a float switch in the emergency pan just for added saftey

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event