Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    92

    which meter ?????

    Happy Easter to every one! My question is this, if you only had enough money for one meter to use in the field; which Fluke meter would you choose ? I know there are several Fluke meters that we could use, but for the sake of expediency, I am only going to use 3 choices: Fluke 902, Fluke 116 or Fluke 179 ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anytown USA
    Posts
    2,064
    Quote Originally Posted by Kool Beans View Post
    Happy Easter to every one! My question is this, if you only had enough money for one meter to use in the field; which Fluke meter would you choose ? I know there are several Fluke meters that we could use, but for the sake of expediency, I am only going to use 3 choices: Fluke 902, Fluke 116 or Fluke 179 ?
    i would use the 179 and buy the amp clamp that you could plug into it.

    but if you only had money for the meter then i would go for the 902. im not the biggest fan of it but at least its a clamp meter with temp, and microamps.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Posts
    509
    fluke 902 is the ultimate hvac meter

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    2,920
    Of those three, I'd have to choose the 902 also. I really like mine.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Central Kentucky
    Posts
    6,248
    Quote Originally Posted by y7turbo View Post
    i would use the 179 and buy the amp clamp that you could plug into it.
    This is the main setup I use so I'm kinda partial to it.
    Have you set up a Google alert for Carbon Monoxide yet?
    Click here to find out how.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anytown USA
    Posts
    2,064
    Quote Originally Posted by bdivell View Post
    fluke 902 is the ultimate hvac meter
    not really. nice entry level all around meter yes, ultimate meter no.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anytown USA
    Posts
    2,064
    Quote Originally Posted by davidr View Post
    This is the main setup I use so I'm kinda partial to it.
    i was leaning towards doing that setup this year.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Central Kentucky
    Posts
    6,248
    You won't regret it y7, I've been using the 179 with a i200 clamp for close to 6 years now.

    If they crap out I will replace them with the same thing.
    Have you set up a Google alert for Carbon Monoxide yet?
    Click here to find out how.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    feildpiece HS36 is my weapon of choice. it comes with the amp clamp and temp probe buy a fluke, pay for a name.







    OH you disagree, i knew you would.
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Central Kentucky
    Posts
    6,248
    Lol..........To each his own.

    Ford vs Chevy

    Goodman vs Any other equipment

    Personally never been a fan of using one meter for all the readings that need to be taken.
    Have you set up a Google alert for Carbon Monoxide yet?
    Click here to find out how.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    92
    I guess most people that use Fluke would choose the 902.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    Quote Originally Posted by davidr View Post
    Lol..........To each his own.

    Ford vs Chevy

    Goodman vs Any other equipment

    Personally never been a fan of using one meter for all the readings that need to be taken.
    actually the 902 has the potential to do everything. but i think fluke is holding back, because of what your thinking about a meter that does it all
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Central Kentucky
    Posts
    6,248
    For a meter to "do it all" that I want it would probably have to be 24" square by 12" thick.

    Too many readings to have to fit on one screen.
    Have you set up a Google alert for Carbon Monoxide yet?
    Click here to find out how.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event