Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Furnace Flame sensor failures

Folks,

I'm new to this site. I'm not an HVAC professional. I need help. Can anyone tell me where I can find good reliable information (technical, statistical, other) on furnace flame sensor failure rates and the reason(s) for failures. Would the furnace manufactureres be good sources, is there a furnace manufacturers association out there I can contact, has anyone ever run across good articles on the subject? I'm open to everything. Thanks to anyone/everyone for help!

Bob3

Not really any good sites for that type of info.

Most flame sensor failures are because of containates in the combustion air.
    Or improper burner set up.

How many failures have you had.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

I started a similar thread a while back. Hopefully this will help you:
    http://www.hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=132682

Here are direct links to some helpful information:
    http://www.appliancemagazine.com/ae/...ne=214&first=1

http://www.bradfordwhite.com/service..._corrosion.asp

http://www.gastechnology.org/webroot...Page\11596.xml

NOTE: Links are now fixed since original posting.

there are seval reason for senser failor.
    te biggest reason is combustion sir contaminants as has been said
    gas purity is also playing a role
    flame impingment
    grounding of the unit
    burner ajustment
    and a few others

the flame senser should be cleaned every year
    this is one reason the have your unit serviced

Agreed;

Combustion air contaminants such as anything that has chemically enhanced scents and/or the ammonia from cat boxes.

Improper burning of fuel mix, especially for LP (propane) systems.

Even oversized furnaces can contribute by having more cycles.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV