+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Chili Contest.

Post Likes

Chili Contest.

Last night I went to a Chili Cookoff. Never been to one before. Quite an eye opener. I always thought my Chili was "OK" and I really enjoy it, but Man...... Last night I tasted 200 ways to screw it up! I guess other people are allowed to have their own taste.... but gawd! One was just fried hamburger with tomatoes in it, some tasted like ketchup, one had Tequilla and Chocolate in it [I wanted to tell him the tequilla should be on the side], one green variety honestly tasted like the lid fell off the cumin when they tried to add a bit. But I did find alot of tasty ways to eat raw and cooked Jalapeno's, and when I woke up this morning I was really bummed because I thought I had the flu. Soon as I sat on the pot I remembered the chili's and now I feel much better .

All in all I decided that I am a much better cook than the average guy with at least a hint on how to use seasonings and ingredients.
    My doctor gave me six months to live, but when I couldn't pay the bill he gave me six months more.
    Walter Matthau

Post Likes
    I like Alton Brown's version. No beans, only meat, tomatoes, onion, and seasoning.
    Luke 6:31

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by renaissanse man View Post
    I like Alton Brown's version. No beans, only meat, tomatoes, onion, and seasoning.

Agreed, even tho I do put beans in mine. I still say "Anybody who knows Beans about real red chili, knows there aint no beans in real Chili"
    My doctor gave me six months to live, but when I couldn't pay the bill he gave me six months more.
    Walter Matthau

Post Likes
    I've been to a few chilli cook offs and yes some people need to be told they can not cook. The latest was at Grainger. The employees cooked it and the customers ate it. Most was pretty good but some was just terrible.

I usually will put 2-3 kinds of beans in my chilli.

Post Likes