Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    999

    Question about filter/drier

    A year or so ago, my son replaced his a/c in his condo. The lineset was burried, so the original was used. No problem as the replacement unit was an R22 unit.

    About a 6" from the plenum, was brazed on a piece of new tubing connected to the liquid line, which terminated with a flared fitting and was connected to the coil.

    There was no filter/drier installed, which I don't really have a problem with. My reasoning is as follows: The joint looked pretty clean, with a uniform dark coating along the joint. I wasn't there to note whether nitrogen purge was used. My assumption is that when a drier is brazed in place, there is one connection on the downstream side and therefore there is the potential that a poorly brazed joint could produce particles beyond the reach of the filter.

    My only experience with f/d's involved brazed connections. Are there ones with flared fittings?

    Is my reasoning correct?

    Thanks.

    AM

    P.S., the year before, the furnace was replaced. Both units are major brands (admittedly, not the top of the line), and the installation looks pretty good to me. The contractor is one of the largest dealers for a major brand in the Philly/So. Jersey market.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Afton, VA / Khorat, Thailand
    Posts
    2,469
    I've seen plenty of lines w/o driers of course, but we always install one or replace the old one on changeouts. I can't remember ever installing a flared drier, but I seem to think I've seen them before. Maybe it's just my vivid imagination though...
    Tough times don't last...Tough people do.

    Midnight Sun Astrophotography

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Southern, CA
    Posts
    520
    Yes they do make driers with flare connections. And you'll get arguments from both sides, but I'm of the opinion that such a small amount of ash formed would have no effect on the system. With sweat in driers preferred and used 10 to 1 over flare in my area. And is usually located in or next to the outdoor unit.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,449
    some condensing units come with filter driers installed from the factory. look through the top grille, there might be one in there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Afton, VA / Khorat, Thailand
    Posts
    2,469
    Quote Originally Posted by craig1 View Post
    some condensing units come with filter driers installed from the factory. look through the top grille, there might be one in there.
    Yes, check that. Some come with them to be field installed and some already in the condenser.
    Tough times don't last...Tough people do.

    Midnight Sun Astrophotography

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2,793
    flare driers are more common in refrigeration but older Carrier condensers were done this way routinely....it doesn't matter one way or another

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Central NH
    Posts
    141
    Flare or Braze doesn't really matter. But you need to make sure that the system has one. It is a very cheap insurance policy instead of plugging a metering device or damaging something else. I have seen and installed both they are the same as far as the system is concerned the compressor can't see what the connection is.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    999
    Quote Originally Posted by hedtedjr View Post
    Flare or Braze doesn't really matter. But you need to make sure that the system has one. It is a very cheap insurance policy instead of plugging a metering device or damaging something else. I have seen and installed both they are the same as far as the system is concerned the compressor can't see what the connection is.

    I agree, but wouldn't it make sense to install it at the end of the liquid line, just before entering the coil?

    AM

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,125
    If there is one already in the condenser, you don't add another.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,665
    i run across trane units that have a drier in the liquid line and the oe drier inside the condenser alot seems like techs and installers would know weather or not the unit they are installing has a internal drier

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2,793
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    If there is one already in the condenser, you don't add another.


    unless that's a muffler that you're seeing in there!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,125
    Then your not seeing a filter drier.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event