Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: ductless wtf?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    189

    ductless wtf?

    saw this at a bank in brooklyn the other.....


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    6,841
    So I guess they're cooling the hot money in the vault and warming up the lobby at the same time. Pretty ingenious!!
    If YOU want change, YOU have to first change.

    If you are waiting for the 'other guy' to change first, just remember, you're the 'other guy's' other guy. To continue to expect real change when you keep acting the same way as always, is folly. Won't happen. Real change will only happen when a majority of the people change the way they vote!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,764
    one rooms to cold, one rooms to hot.......... i got a solution for that..........

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Afton, VA / Khorat, Thailand
    Posts
    2,469
    It would probably get stolen if it was outside.....

    next morning just 2 copper lines up on blocks.
    Tough times don't last...Tough people do.

    Midnight Sun Astrophotography

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Powell River, BC, Canada
    Posts
    763
    It's for all that COLD hard cash!
    Where are you? Are you done yet? I got ONE more call for you.....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    St.Paul, MN
    Posts
    125
    Isn't that called heat reclaim.
    Remember, some poor fool has to work on what you install someday, and it might even be you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,263
    Keeps it from getting all dirty this way
    I r the king of the world!...or at least I get to stand on the roof and look down on the rest of yall

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    In a freezer or in an attic somewhere
    Posts
    550

    Cool

    It looks like a new install. There is no electrical hooked up and the cond. is still on a pallet.
    If that is were it is going they'll soon find out their wrong doing.
    Probably didn't have a way to drill through the wall to install correctly, but it doesn't matter they already wasted the charge in the line set. Probably don't have a vacume to boot.
    What a shame.
    Also I wonder if they ordered the low ambient kit for that unit.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ct
    Posts
    499
    Maybe it's a heat pump, running in heat mode, and they actually wanted cooling. Figuring it must be installed backwards, so they switched the evap and cond.

    Only problem is they need to walk outside with the remote to turn on the AC.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,042
    ductless = no ducts... i dont see any ducts

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    29
    I have seen that before with warehouses with mezanines. A good example is Johnstone Supply did it when they added a training room upstairs here in town. It was the easiest solution for them. The heat pump units are in the warehouse on the second story. The air handlers are in each training room. They seem to work well. It would not be my first choice (and no we weren't the contractor that did the work). But it works.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event