Confused old one pipe steam boiler thoughts

My primary mechanical abilities are with heatpumps so I have little experience with boilers. I live in a 1930 home with around 1200 sq. ft. 1 1/2 stories (craftsman cape). Bought the house 2 years ago and I'm concerned with the heating system: It's cast iron, installed in the early 1950's, oil fired, one pipe steam. Seems to heat fine, but when cleaning the inside out there was a ton and I mean a ton of black soot everywhere. I've since got the burner to burn clean. BUT, the boiler sits up off the floor on bricks that were coated with (asbestos?) and the coating AND the bricks have deteriorated BADLY especially the back wall opposite the burner. To get me thru the winter I bought 4 firebricks and just placed them against the crumbling rear wall AND THEY have already began to show stress cracks. We go thru 200 gallons of oil every 4 weeks and I'm starting to wonder if we should start saving to replace this thing. However I would have to really tear the *&^# out of the plastered walls if I went with a 2 pipe system or water. How hard is it to replace the bricks under this monster....or any other advice

Wet Pack.

If your in the trade, the supply house will know what you need, and can tell you what to do.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Let me get this straight, did you put the bricks in the fire box? You mentioned you got the burner to run clean. No smoke, CO under 100ppm?

Thats where I usually put fire bricks.

Although he didn't actually put them where they belong per say.
    Contractor locator map