Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

16 year old system replacement.. wow :)

A little background seeing this is my totally newbie post. Am almost thankful when I was having this house built that I didn't know what I know now as I would probably have driven my builer nuts. Home was NOT a custom built home so the heating choices were basically not mine. Not that I would have known much of anything about hVAC during that time and really without this forum and the internet I'd still be totally stupid.

My background is as as cientist who works in the nuclear industry, dealing with radiation protection, degreed in same field and with some civil engineering background though I am NOT an engineer!

My home is approx 2700 heated square feet. The foyer is 2 story and I ahve a 19 x 19 bonus room over the garage. I also have 2 HVAC systems, one fo reach floor. We are not considering replacing the downstairs unit as it is mostly the upstairs one which is having the problem.

The upstairs is approx 1580 sq feet of living space. The system is composed of a Trane furnace along with a 2.5 ton Trane AC unit. Oddly, the coils used are a cheap 3rd party ( All Style I think? ) and not well matched unit. I am alos less than impressed with the ductwork ( there are 2 separate square/rectangular ( not sure of name ) boxes coming off the coils box along wiht the supply hose for my bonus room. One of these has a very hsort run folowed by a 90 degree bend and has I believe 3 flex lines attached, the third coming off the end of the line.