Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 42
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    and seal the AH unit up really good tape all joimts and seems and silicone around teh lineset where it terminates atthe AH. and especially seal around high voltage wire where it goes through the cabinet. leaks through the AH will cause condensation on the AH
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Suppy NC
    Posts
    4,513
    Quote Originally Posted by beachtech View Post
    and seal the AH unit up really good tape all joimts and seems and silicone around teh lineset where it terminates atthe AH. and especially seal around high voltage wire where it goes through the cabinet. leaks through the AH will cause condensation on the AH

    I agree seall it up. Make sure the return is sealed also. If it is insulated doesnt mean it is seal and not leaking.

    make sure the duct work is sized correctly supply and return. Trap is very important and airflo is also. If your v-drive isnt set up for the size unit you can have this problem.

    would be a shame to go the expense of replacing the unit just to have the same problem with a new differant brand.

    find the cause and fix the problem then if you want change the unit ok

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    190
    Sounds like your 3 companies did not find the problem before offering a fix. I would look at the airflow situation before any new investment. I don't think your problem is a Carrier problem. as for making a choice between the 3 brands I wouls not be intrested in a top of the line systemstill usine r22. n I also would question a contractor offering these units without discussing the refrigerant issue

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,120
    Question a top of the line R22 system with a 10 year compressor warranty.
    Why question it.
    He can get 10 year parts and labor warranty on it.

    Virgin R12 is still available.

    So why worry about R22, which will still be made for another 7 to 12 years.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Suppy NC
    Posts
    4,513
    Quote Originally Posted by rponson View Post
    Sounds like your 3 companies did not find the problem before offering a fix. I would look at the airflow situation before any new investment. I don't think your problem is a Carrier problem. as for making a choice between the 3 brands I wouls not be intrested in a top of the line systemstill usine r22. n I also would question a contractor offering these units without discussing the refrigerant issue

    Why R-22 is not going away for a long time. Ten years and good eff is what counts not refrigerant. Besides if installed properly then should not need any refrigerant added for the life of the unit. Providing there isnt a problem or leaks. This accures about 1 percent

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Quote Originally Posted by rponson View Post
    Sounds like your 3 companies did not find the problem before offering a fix. I would look at the airflow situation before any new investment. I don't think your problem is a Carrier problem. as for making a choice between the 3 brands I wouls not be intrested in a top of the line systemstill usine r22. n I also would question a contractor offering these units without discussing the refrigerant issue
    I would think it was meant as ,give the customer the choice,which I agree with.Plus a preference for Puron/R410a,which I share.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,120
    Nothing wrong with using either refrigerant.
    Carrier still uses R22 in their 2 stage with the Bristol TS as you know.

    And on that subject Dash. Have you heard if the TS is going to be made in a R410A version.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Nothing wrong with using either refrigerant.
    Carrier still uses R22 in their 2 stage with the Bristol TS as you know.

    And on that subject Dash. Have you heard if the TS is going to be made in a R410A version.
    It is a Puron/R410a.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,120
    Wow, when did that change.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    45
    The Carrier Rep was a Carrier Engineer. I had her business card. She was there with the A/c company that installed the system & she recommended changes which they did but is still sweated. I've just resolved to the problem. I did place a piece of insullation board to the bottow & that seems to eliminate 90 % of it. The bottom of the A/H is ok but a few inches up the exposed sides still sweats.

    Thanks a lot to ALL of you that contributed to my situation. I really appreciatre your thoughts.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    If thats's the Carrier rep. I'm thinking it was,they likely didn't follow all the suggestions.

    There is no design flaw.

    Ask your contractor to test the duct static before they quote/install a new system,regardless of your brand choice.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    190
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Nothing wrong with using either refrigerant.
    Carrier still uses R22 in their 2 stage with the Bristol TS as you know.

    And on that subject Dash. Have you heard if the TS is going to be made in a R410A version.
    Not true. Carrier 2 spd is Puron only

  13. #26
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    6,323
    Since when has the Carrier Bristol 2-speed been R-410A, my literature shows the Bristol as R-22 and the Copeland using R-410A.
    Last edited by classical; 03-16-2008 at 12:00 AM.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event