Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 23 of 23
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Huntsville,AL
    Posts
    4,125
    built by Snider-General > sold to Inter-City Products, name changed to ICP > sold to Carrier
    harvest rainwater,make SHADE,R75/50/30= roof/wall/floor, use HVAC mastic,caulk all wall seams!

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by cem-bsee View Post
    built by Snider-General > sold to Inter-City Products, name changed to ICP > sold to Carrier

    actually it was a SINGER furnace made by Singer>sold to Snyder General in 1980>sold to Inter-City in 1991>name changed to ICP>sold to United Technologies.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,586
    And it was assembled by Laverne and Shirley.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Riverman! That was the answer to what I was looking for. Have a great day! Terry

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6
    Just had my friend come over to size things up on the old furnace for a new replacement. My old Singer is a 100.000 btu input, he said we can go with 80.000 input with a 95% output it would be a Goodman horizonal. A two stage blower, my house is about 1,200 sq feet,two returns and six room registers. I'm thinking this new system should save on gas. The A coil will be in there so in time I will have central air instead of those heavy window units. He was thinking a two ton system should do the job. Thanks again for everybodys replys!! Terry

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,586
    He's guessing on size. He didn't do a load calc.


    Good chance a 45,000 90% is more the size you need.

    Your house must have no insulation, and be mostly glass to need an output of 63 BTU's per sq ft.

    Not to bust on your friend too much. But, he's not doing you any favors by guessing.

    Before you talk to him. He's giong to say, well its 2 say, so on first stage it will be close, and the second stage will help it recover quicker if you set your temp back at night.
    Thats a bad excuse not to do the job right.

    Click on the HVAC CALC link, pay the small fee, and do your own.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    107
    80K BTU for a 1200 sq. ft. house seems grossly oversized to me but I'm just a HO.

    You probably should get HVAC Calc before you make a serious error in sizing, IMHO.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,090
    Put some money into insulation, and sealing your home.
    Then you probably won't need more than 40.000 btu's, and that will be much more comfortable and efficient than an over-sized unit.
    I don't think it's possible to waste money on insulation.
    "Hey Lama, hey, how about a little something, you know, for the effort." And he says, "there won't be any money, but when you die, on your deathbed, you will receive total consciousness." So I got that goin' for me, which is nice. - Carl Spackler

  9. #22
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,467
    2old, this thread is 2old!

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,867
    Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post
    2old, this thread is 2old!
    To be fair, I pulled a few posts out of this thread and made a new one.

    Probably should have just closed it.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event