Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 31
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    Oh, big question for you.. You may not know.. But why do you guys use the 6" round plastic diffuser, and not the 12 by 2 that will "Throw" the air towards the floor?

    When they first moved into the house, the lower level was much colder, so I added a t-stat on the lower level, and closed of most of the damper for the upstairs to drive more heat down stairs. Helped some.. Then I put in the VP, that helped some more by giving the furnace a longer run time in 1st stage.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    2,677
    those were the cat's ass for a while I guess, they look nice and were easy to install, we now use 4x10 rectangular boots with the fancy frames they button lock into, live and learn I guess. We wanted them to zone the basement at the time, but they didn't feel the cost difference was justified, Because there is no "sun heatload" in the basements the upstairs shuts off before the basement can satisfy, happens in 95% of the basements around here, doesn't seem to matter how overkill you go on heat runs it never changes without seperate trunklines and zone dampers. We've have tried everyway we know possible to change this but I feel there is only the one way(zoning) We have verified proper amount of cfm per room ect. and still the same results. Just look how frigid the basements get if you leave the registers open in the summer. Shows you that you definately have enough flow just not the neccesary run time. By installing the VP you accomplished what could have been done by possibly setting the T8400 to 1 instead of 3, but you definately made a great improvement by installing the VP. BTW the second Tstat is all over town on a crap load of old Lennox equip. 1st time I was looking all over for the zone panel! Best one was the furnace and A/C running at teh same time!
    You can't fix stupid

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    Quote Originally Posted by cmajerus View Post
    We wanted them to zone the basement at the time, but they didn't feel the cost difference was justified,
    Didn't know you guys offer that to them, I would of really twisted their arms for it! I told them they should do hot water heat with radiant heat, but mom said was way too expensive. I did talked them into doing the XV90, and with you guys.. J-Con use Haley, Dad didn't feel at ease with them since they are over in Plainview.

    never changes without seperate trunklines and zone dampers. We've have tried everyway we know possible to change this but I feel there is only the one way(zoning) We
    Yeah, I told them I'd like to get the house down the road if anything happens with them, and I am planning on putting in Zone control in the house.

    Just look how frigid the basements get if you leave the registers open in the summer.
    You are not kidding about that! I change the dampers for them when change in season.. Open upstairs up, and close the basement dampers in the summer, and other way around in the winter.

    By installing the VP you accomplished what could have been done by possibly setting the T8400 to 1 instead of 3, but you definately made a great improvement by installing the VP.
    They Had a CT8600 put in at first, I was going to change it to 1, but knowing 2nd stage was on a timer, it wouldn't help out much. I had my XV90 put in by HiMEC along with the VP, I saw the huge comfort increase in my basement, so that's why put in the VP. So the basement went from a 58˚ area to a 62˚.

    I am tempted to put in the IAQ and change the 2nd stat to remote sensor to avg out the temps, and also for humidity control. The ductwork gets pretty damn sweaty! I did bump up the blower speed last summer to help prevent the duct from dripping. Also take off the Remote sensor/controler on the wall for the LIFEBREATH system, but I am not sure if that can be done being that they got the timers in the bathrooms/laundry room.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    2,677
    should be able to put a remote sensor in with the VP you got there, if you can get wires run or you could always relocate the main tstat downstairs, and install the sensor upstairs, depends if they change the temp much or not if it would be a hassle running downstairs to do that, mine I have on auto changeover, so I don't think I touch it for much more than turning off the service reminders.
    You can't fix stupid

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    Mom was in the store today, and I asked her about the T-stat down there and told her about the remote sensor, and wants me to go ahead and go for it.

    No way I can fish a new wire, it above the bathroom down stairs. So I will do the IAQ since she rather have the main one left alone upstairs.

    Do you know if I can tie the Lifebreath to the IAQ, and still use the remote timers?

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    2,677
    Quote Originally Posted by mayguy View Post
    Mom was in the store today, and I asked her about the T-stat down there and told her about the remote sensor, and wants me to go ahead and go for it.

    No way I can fish a new wire, it above the bathroom down stairs. So I will do the IAQ since she rather have the main one left alone upstairs.

    Do you know if I can tie the Lifebreath to the IAQ, and still use the remote timers?
    yes, not sure what you do for hook up but can't be too hard. where ever you get the IAQ ask them how they should have a schematic, Gus, Goodin and First Supply I think all have Lifebreath.

    BTW where do you work at?
    You can't fix stupid

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    I'll look up on line for the diagram for LifeBreath, otherwise as you said about Gus Larson.

    I am at Home Depot.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    Guess your service call didn't take care of my parents.. Mom said it went out again over the weekend.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    2,677
    Quote Originally Posted by mayguy View Post
    Guess your service call didn't take care of my parents.. Mom said it went out again over the weekend.
    she didn't call... must have been able to reset it.
    You can't fix stupid

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    Quote Originally Posted by cmajerus View Post
    she didn't call... must have been able to reset it.
    She didn't say.. just said it went out over the weekend.. Maybe is waiting till Monday.

    If you do go out, be on the look out for a black cat.. The Cat attacked mom pretty good on Thursday night, and they can't find the cat back to test it. Guess it had Rabies, and went nuts on her.. Bit her hard in the hand, and twice in the legs... Will be getting the rabies series of shots!

  11. #24
    Looks like a Microsoft Screensaver!

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    77
    Rabid cats and bugs?!

    Glad I don't do service in your area!

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    Quote Originally Posted by teach'nhvac View Post
    Rabid cats and bugs?!

    Glad I don't do service in your area!
    LOL Well, I think the cat is no where to be found, and I am sure it has died some where... Maybe the Coyotes has eat it for lunch, or the bear.

    As for Bugs, Sounds like it was something else that went wrong with the furnace, I think mom said it was the pressure switch. CMajerus has gone back out and took care of it..

    C, was it the pressure switch?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event