Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 32

Thread: Goodman failing

  1. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    7,977
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffw_00 View Post
    Filter has long since been taken out of the equation.

    There is a filter correct ?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    132
    check flue for blockage,make sure no snow blocking it

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Suppy NC
    Posts
    4,513
    model and serail numbers would be helpful
    brand realy doent mater only the numbers do

    how was the unit working before this problem came along and what shape was the filter in when you changed it

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    523
    Before you have any repair done it would be worth while to have the guy that comes out inspect the heat exchanger for cracks/missing rings. Goodmans of that era had the older clamshell design and should qualify for a tradeup program if cracked/missing a ring. Better off getting a discounted tradeup than fixing the old one which may have a crack in it.

    Its also much more likely to have a crack/ring problem if the thing was oversized and has airflow issues.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    906
    Thanks skoonen - I'll pass that on.

    Don't know model and haven't been able to find it, sorry.
    No snow - 50DegF today

    the filter was a bit clogged but problem recurred with it removed.
    thanks
    /j

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    "except he also has an unconnected AC coil on top of his furnace"

    Assuming that means it's there but nt connected to an outdoor unit,that's an additional restriction to air flow,over yours.


    How long has it been there, and how dirty might it be??

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    906
    Quote Originally Posted by dash View Post


    How long has it been there, and how dirty might it be??
    came with the furnace, and who knows - i'll mention it to him thanks
    /j

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Valdosta Ga
    Posts
    847
    I would next swap out main limit sw and then check all connections to fan motor

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by coolwhip View Post
    Suprise suprise, another goodmen thread...one would think that the company should atleast change their name.

    Call a sevice guy and have him come out to the house....air flow issue.

    So is it an AIRFLOW problem or a Goodman problem? It sounds like the furnace controls are responding exactly as they should in the given situation.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    17,960
    Quote Originally Posted by Nubicon View Post
    So is it an AIRFLOW problem or a Goodman problem? It sounds like the furnace controls are responding exactly as they should in the given situation.
    Its a gooman installed by a hack that didnt understand the dynamics of air flow Id wager...they usually are Nube.
    Behind the ostensible government sits enthroned an invisible government owing no allegiance and acknowledging no responsibility to the people.

    Theodore Roosevelt

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    906
    not a nube, an old and experienced..... plumber (not an hvac guy).

    It ACTS like an airflow problem, but best as we can tell, nothing has changed with the airflow (notwithstanding a gradual clog in the A/C coil?) so we suspect a furnace problem.
    More airflow (primarily in the return) fixes it, so does that mean the extra airflow is counteracting some clog, or the furnace has gradually (or suddenly) become more sensitive to limited airflow?

    wish I knew. I like the idea of swapping the limit switch though
    /j

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    466
    Swapping limits out is something that is only done by those who do not understand the values of proper troubleshooting. Randomly replacing parts is a hit or miss fix at best but most times misses the cause of the problem which then returns shortly after parts have been replaced.

    This furnace needs to be properly diagnosed for temperatial differential, gas pressures and gas-air mixtures etc. Replacing parts on a furnace can make a small matter into a major problem quite effectively.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Valdosta Ga
    Posts
    847
    Why can we not pull out the a/c coil that we are not useing anyway. Did you not have a light that said the HI limit was tripped. That is a chep part unless being a plumper fixing frozen pipes is cheapper.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event