Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 22
  1. #1

    Lights flickering when compressor turns on

    The lights in my house flicker whenever the 4-Ton AC/Heat Pump compressor turns on. The compressor was just installed today. It is a new installation (not a replacement). I intend to talk to my contractor about it, but am looking for this boards' comments on this issue. Is this normal? Is it typically an easy fix (if there is such a thing as a typical fix)? Other comments?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,371
    I get a slight flicker too. It makes sense to me (not saying it's supposed to happen)... the unit is drawing quite a bit of power.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    9,548
    Having a hard start kit installed can help this. Also have all elec. connections checked.
    If everything was always done "by the book"....the book would never change.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    18951
    Posts
    1,593
    I have everything wired correctly, including a 200 amp Cutler Hammer panel, and some of my lights flicker. I have found they are mostly florescent lights or ones on a rheostat.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,758
    A hard start kit should help.
    Have your contractor come back and check it out.
    An over charge could also cause it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,758
    Quote Originally Posted by bobb25 View Post
    I have everything wired correctly, including a 200 amp Cutler Hammer panel, and some of my lights flicker. I have found they are mostly florescent lights or ones on a rheostat.
    What size is it.
    What size wire is it.
    What is the length of the feed.
    Is teh breaker for the OD unit, at or near the top of the panel box.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,371
    Actually... after that compressor swap (old compressor overamped)... I'm not sure if my lights do flicker anymore. I'll have to pay more attention.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    Is it a Trane?
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    What size is it.
    What size wire is it.
    What is the length of the feed.
    Is teh breaker for the OD unit, at or near the top of the panel box.
    I'll do my best at answering these questions:

    SIZE=4-Ton...Here is the link..http://www.ducanehvac.com/heat_2hp14.asp

    Don't know the size of the wire...Feed is not long, maybe 15'-20'.

    I am not 100% positive on the breaker question, but here is what I think. It is run to a sub-panel off the main box. This sub-panel is only partially used. The right hand side of the box is about 75% filled, all w/ 20 AMP breakers. The left had side is about 50% used, but has all double breakers. One breaker (the first from the top) that is used is a double 40. I believe that one is the breaker that controls the compressor. Don't shoot me if I don't have all this right, but that is how it looks to me.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by dandyme View Post
    Is it a Trane?

    No, Ducane.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6,285
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Is the breaker for the OD unit, at or near the top of the panel box.

    Is there a effect from it being on the bottom....like power losses from it being on the bottom?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,758
    On a loaded panel box, when the A/C, breaker is on the bottom. The bus drops voltage, and can flicker lights sometimes.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,758
    The sub panel could be over loaded.

    Your installer, and possibaly an electrician should check it out.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event