Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Mix old coils with new unit?

I have a 12 year old split system 5-ton Lennox AC, gas furnace in a 2000 Sq foot home that heats fine but needs a new cooler.

I was going to replace everything until a friend of a friend who does AC work suggested I install a new Goodman 13 SEER R22 unit outside and keep the Lennox coils from my existing 10 SEER unit. He said he checked with Lennox and that the coils will work with the new unit.

I'm new to all this but read you need to match the coils to the new system to achieve the stated SEER rating. Is this correct?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated?

I seriously doubt if anyone at Lennox who actually knew anything technical would tell your friend that it would be fine. Replace them both after your friend does a Manual J heat loss/gain on the house, and if you don't have a 90+ furnace, replace that too. Your "friend" is doing you no favors.

Quote Originally Posted by cap2240 View Post
    He said he checked with Lennox and that the coils will work with the new unit.
    Uh huh... No Lennox dude in his right mind said that.

Work? Sure. Work correctly? Not a chance. If the old evaporator coil has a TXV then it'll "work". Efficiency will be less than 13 SEER and capacity will be less than 5 tons. But it'll blow cold. You might even be happy with it's performance. And it might even cost a smidge less to run than the old setup. That's not an endorsement of the idea, just a reality. It's really best to get a new coil.