Thread: Opinion please

Opinion please

I have my choices down to two. The Trane TUD080R9V4K furnace with a 4TTX604B100A A/C unit and the Bryant Evolution series model 187ANA042 compressor with 315JAV042 furnace. With cost about the same, which choice is the better unit for the long term. Mtce cost, money savings, etc... Also is the variable speed furnace the way to go? I am told the long term savings payoff, but can't find any numbers to back that up. My wife is questioning me about cost for the variable speed, so I really need some hard numbers. Thanks

The Evolution 187ANA042 doesn't exist because the Evolution A/C only comes in full ton sizes; the salesman must mean 187ANA048 (4 tons). The Evolution system has great features. If you search around here you'll see that others are happy with their system. The variable speed air handler is a big bonus for comfort (and energy savings).

I'm just starting out in ac and don't have the technical experience to answer your question but I can answer as a home owner. I have a trane unit that is 21 years old and still going. At that age, I'm pretty sure it'll be going out soon, but when it does, I'm going to be hard-pressed to not purchase another Trane.

Quote Originally Posted by RandyRich View Post
    At that age, I'm pretty sure it'll be going out soon, but when it does, I'm going to be hard-pressed to not purchase another Trane.
    Until you see the price.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

If you want anything high SEER in a Trane, you don't have any choice but variable speed. Might hit 14 without it using a high end unit but that's about it. Variable speed is definitely worth it. Nobody has convinced me yet that the 16i is worth it though.