Thread: Furnace and AC

Furnace and AC

Good day, I’m a newbie trying to get a handle on some burning questions that I have.

I just bought my second home in May knowing the furnace and A/C need to be replaced. Both are working but are looking a little rough, but I have time to ask the appropriate questions. The home is 2300 Sqft 2 story with a basement. I live in Niagara and the winters are rough at points. Currently installed is a 100, 000 BTU Mid Eff and a 2.5 TON A/C.

I’ve had numerous quotes all are about the same. I’m looking for high efficiency natural gas of 92% AFUE or better, preferably better. For the A/C I’m looking for something 14 Seer or better.

My issue is only one of the dealers actually checked my duct work to see what size it was, and the same guy calculated the heat loss for my home which he said would be around 45,000 BTU due to windows etc. I found him to be the most professional.

I hade quotes for:
    TRANE : Furnace XV95 80 000 BTU A/C XL14i 2.5 TON
    CARRIER: Furnace 58MVB Infinity 60 000 BTU A/C 24ACA or 24APA5 2.5TON
    BRYANT: Furnace 95I 80 000 BTU A/C 187A 17 Seer 3 TON
    Furnace 90 I 80 000 BTU A/C 15 Seer 2.5 TON

I had multiple quotes from CARRIER they all said 60 000 BTU and 2.5 Ton A/C. Why is it both TRANE and BRYANT are saying 80 000 BTU? All are the dual ECM’s. Why is BRYANT saying go with a 3 TON? What is the general census on 60 v/s 80 000 BTU given my house size?

One of the dealers said the 3 Ton A/C would be too much for my house and would cause the motor/ compressor to keep kicking off and on and the bottom floor would be cool while the top floor wouldn’t.

The explanation I got for the 60 v/s 80 000 BTU is that 80 would be overkill for the size of the house. If I stayed with 60 000 the furnace would be running at about 46 000 BTU for the majority and 60 000 when it needs that extra kick.