Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    181

    Delta Controls Questions

    Hello Everyone,

    I had a call from a potential customer today asking if I could work on a Delta Controls controls system. I told him honestly I did not at present know to to operate or program Delta Controls. He apparently has had many problems with his current HVAC company and ask me to look into his Delta System.

    I have experience with Johnson Controls, new and old, and Staefa, Various LON systems and the Tridium front ends.

    How proprietary is the Delta System? Can I buy the software? Do they offer Training? Classes? What is the programming like?

    All I know is that I need Orcaview, and that's about it.

    Thanks,

    Zandman

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    23

    Delta Controls

    Hi

    Sorry dude wrong info
    Last edited by cooljoesa; 02-01-2008 at 11:23 PM. Reason: Wrong info

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    735
    cooljoesa,

    Dude, he's talking about Delta controls in Delta B.C.

    These guys...http://www.deltacontrols.com/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    47
    Delta uses Bacnet so no they are not proprietary. Orcaview is the software that they use to program/graphics/view the system. It's not like JCI were you need a whole software suite to do a job. You might want to ask the customer what version the controllers are. They could be 3.33, 3.30, 3.22 etc. You might not need to purchase the software, there is a good chance that the customer may already have the software on the PC that they use to view the system. Most jobs are setup this way. If they do have the software try locating the disc and read up on the technical manual, it's very good. Also anytime your in Orcaview, hit F1 to bring up the help menu, this also works really well. Delta uses line code for all programming, if-then-else, kinda stuff. Delta is very supportive to their customers and partners. If you need any more help please ask.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3,641
    Quote Originally Posted by ORCA_GUY View Post
    Delta uses Bacnet so no they are not proprietary. Orcaview is the software that they use to program/graphics/view the system. It's not like JCI were you need a whole software suite to do a job. You might want to ask the customer what version the controllers are. They could be 3.33, 3.30, 3.22 etc. You might not need to purchase the software, there is a good chance that the customer may already have the software on the PC that they use to view the system. Most jobs are setup this way. If they do have the software try locating the disc and read up on the technical manual, it's very good. Also anytime your in Orcaview, hit F1 to bring up the help menu, this also works really well. Delta uses line code for all programming, if-then-else, kinda stuff. Delta is very supportive to their customers and partners. If you need any more help please ask.
    That is close to the funniest statement I have ever seen on this board! Good One!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    112
    So ORCA Man,

    What other BACnet software programs can you use to program the Delta controllers?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Dungeon
    Posts
    21
    I'm looking for a Bacnet pneumatic system.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    66
    "I'm looking for a Bacnet pneumatic system."


    hey whatnoise, you better be prepared to invest in some I/P Transducers, lol

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2
    dear silversurfer
    i have some questions about delta controls
    will you please help me?
    regard
    hadi

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329
    Quote Originally Posted by outtacontrol View Post
    So ORCA Man,

    What other BACnet software programs can you use to program the Delta controllers?
    I would love to see the answer to this one because Orcaview is just as much a software suite required to program Delta controllers as CCT is required for JCI BacNet controllers.
    UA Local 141

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329
    Quote Originally Posted by outtacontrol View Post
    So ORCA Man,

    What other BACnet software programs can you use to program the Delta controllers?
    So if I have a Delta device I can direct connect to it, using say Hyperterminal, and program the device with out any PROPRIETARY hardware or software?
    UA Local 141

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    191
    hey berg2666 -

    I think they are being sarcastic.

    Since LON stuff is more 'generic' multiple LON vendor's stuff can be programmed from the same software. Not the case on BACnet.

    Delta uses Bacnet so no they are not proprietary.
    Currently, from what I know, all BACnet stuff needs it's own brand software to program.

    Not a problem with me - I think Delta does it right.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    151
    I am so bored of people hijacking threads to argue the pro's and cons of bacnet compared to LON.

    How about discussing this in a seperate thread, and focus on answering the questions people ask in ones like this.

    (I sometimes don't respond to questions now as I can't be bothered to start another argument that can never be won, as half the peoples view will never be changed.)
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Don't be a stupid dwarf. It's not big and it's not clever!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image