Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Expansion Tank

Expansion Tank

Where do you install the expansion tank , in the return or supply side of the boiler. I am an apprentice and install boilers with my boss. I was taught that they go in the return side but he says the supply. He's the boss so I do what he tells me and dont argue.

Before the circulator.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

So, if the circulator is in the return just before the boiler the tank should be before the circulator. We install them on the outlet of the boiler on the supply and install the circulator just before the boiler on the return .. Boss tells me it doesnt matter where it goes.

look into pump away very interesting and works great
    use to put the tank on the suppy side if the pump is on the return like yours are. With pump away and air scoop i drop it out the bottom of the scoop at the neautral point of the system. This is the best place.

i also was taught never on the return side near the pump because it is the most negative point. If memorie serves right the dirrections with the tank tell you not near the return side oh the pump.

Tank before the circ is the neutral point. Point of no pressure change.
    Contractor locator map

Quote Originally Posted by tinknocker service tech View Post
    look into pump away very interesting and works great
    use to put the tank on the suppy side if the pump is on the return like yours are. With pump away and air scoop i drop it out the bottom of the scoop at the neautral point of the system. This is the best place.
    This is how our company does it too- Love pump away systems!!

Been I will have to look into that a little more. Since i was 12 i have been told on the supply side but doesnt mean i was told right.

Pump away IMO is the way to go easy and works

In the old days, they were afraid the circ would draw out water and air from the old tanks.