Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    tidewater, va
    Posts
    2,135

    CVHE second stage case

    Trane gurus,
    I have an old CVHE I am getting ready to take down for refrigerant leak repairs. I have thought to put a pressure tap in the blankoff cover on the second stage case, the 4 bolt plate that is at the same height as the third stage operator tang, just to the left on the second stage case. Just thought about this for troubleshooting in the future and for no other particular reason. Any thoughts or suggestions?


    r404a

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    423
    Christ already got the Big Johson Blue on that York Suction L

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    tidewater, va
    Posts
    2,135
    Can't take the credit for that one 32, the facilities guys have had that one painted for YEARS. Beautiful mechanical room, that is an OLD Turbomodulator (early 80's) and is about to be changed out soon. Anyone want to buy old Turbo parts?

    r404a

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,986
    The second stagee blank off plate is from the original design. They had 3 sets of inlet guide vanes, however it made no difference in performance, so they removed them from the design, installed the plate and never redid the casting.

    Just drill and tap it, then put in a valve or whatever you want. It could be of use when adjusting the guidevanes. JMHO
    Quote Originally Posted by r404a View Post
    Trane gurus,
    I have an old CVHE I am getting ready to take down for refrigerant leak repairs. I have thought to put a pressure tap in the blankoff cover on the second stage case, the 4 bolt plate that is at the same height as the third stage operator tang, just to the left on the second stage case. Just thought about this for troubleshooting in the future and for no other particular reason. Any thoughts or suggestions?


    r404a
    Your poor planning does not constitute an emergency on my part!!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5
    I can't think of any reason to put anything there? Maybe a sight-glass?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    I am unsure myself
    Posts
    1,116
    I can't really see much benefit to adding anything there. Just seems like one more place for a leak. jmho

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Great country of Texas
    Posts
    429
    No reason to put one there. As someone stated, just another place to leak!
    "I'm from Texas, what country are you from?"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    tidewater, va
    Posts
    2,135
    Thanks for the replies. I was thinking along the same lines as Abs, but not only for setting up vanes, but as a troubleshooting method say if 1st stage shut?
    Granted, head would be low, but interstage would be real low.


    r404a

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    tidewater, va
    Posts
    2,135
    Quote Originally Posted by CVHF1280 View Post
    I can't think of any reason to put anything there? Maybe a sight-glass?
    Welcome to the forum CVHF1280....we'll accept you, even though you only have one economizer ventline...we know you were born that way.LOL

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by r404a View Post
    Welcome to the forum CVHF1280....we'll accept you, even though you only have one economizer ventline...we know you were born that way.LOL
    Thank you for accepting me the way I am

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event