Thread: Heat Strips

Heat Strips

Just a dumb question, but, I've asked a lot in my lifetime. At what temperature does it become more cost efficient to run just the heat strips rather than both the heat pump and strips? I realize a lot rides on the efficiency of the heat pump. Most of the reading I've done indicated 20 deg. Thanks for your answers. Hope you're having a great new year.

Quote Originally Posted by beachbum64 View Post
    Just a dumb question, but, I've asked a lot in my lifetime. At what temperature does it become more cost efficient to run just the heat strips rather than both the heat pump and strips? I realize a lot rides on the efficiency of the heat pump. Most of the reading I've done indicated 20 deg. Thanks for your answers. Hope you're having a great new year.
    Hi beachbum64! I'm not a professional, I'm a homeowner, like you. Nevertheless, the answer I thnk your looking for is the heat strips should not come into play until the heat pump can no longer re-place the heat loss that's occuring in your home. I beleive it's called design temperature. I also belive that the heat pump should run even when the heat strips do kick in because you are still getting some btu's from the heat pump and this will still help the heat strips so their job and shut off sooner. I hope this helps some and I'm sure there will be more added to this.

thorton

Per Goodman's Expanded Heating Data for my new 3-ton 14 SEER heat pump:

15F outside temp, COP (Coefficient of Performance) = 2.46
    10F outside, COP = 2.26
    5F outside, COP = 2.06
    0F outside, COP = 1.84.

The COP is the ratio of the energy output of the heat pump divided by the electrical energy to run the heat pump.

So, even at 0F outside, the heat pump still puts out better efficiency than electric resistance strips which have a COP of 1. At 0F, the heat pump is 184% efficient at transferring heat from outdoors to indoors.