Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 41
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13

    York 96 Affinity noise

    We have a York 96 Affinity furnace and was installed last month. While running the unit creates a great deal of noise. It sounds like a jet engine. I called the installer back out and he checked the gas pressure and said it was all ok and the noise was normal. It is 10x louder then the old furnace so something must be wrong.

    Any ideas?
    Last edited by slick1234; 01-07-2008 at 12:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    999
    Quote Originally Posted by slick1234 View Post
    We have a York 96 Affinity furnace and was installed last month. While running the unit creates a great deal of noise. It sounds like a jet engine. I called the installer back out and he checked the gas pressure and said it was all ok and the noise was normal. It is 10x louder then the old furnace so something must be wrong.

    Any ideas?
    There were two recent threads working, specifically about the noise level of the Affinity furnace. If you search the residential forum with key words Affinity, noise, jet plane, you may find them. The 2 posters may check in soon.

    AM

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thanks ampulman. I looked and looked, but I found no others who have the same problem with their furnace.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,189
    Most likely scenario: Your jumpers are set incorrectly.

    A close second: Your ductwork is too small.


    Solution: Have service company verify proper jumper positions. Once corrected, pay someone to solve your duct issues.
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    Thanks jrbenny,
    We checked the jumpers and there is no jumper for the Blower speed. The duct work is original for the house. The furnace is 80K btu and the
    house is about 2700 sq ft.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,189
    That's why you need to call the service company.
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,000
    I have customers tell me this all the time after we pull an old conventional furnace and install a new inshot type the jet engine noise I have to show then why it's not as quite, the old burner type were quite because the gas was feed to a burner assembly and then the burner assemble heated the heat exchanger were the new ones the gas is fired directly into the heat exchanger it does make a difference in the noise, now of course here in Texas were talking 80% we don't sell a lot of the 90+ furnaces maybe there not suppose to make any noise I am not real familiar with those.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,058
    This is the Mod your talking about right?
    Are you getting this noise as soon as it starts.
    Or after it runs for 10 minutes or more.

    How long did it take him to check the manifold pressure. Can't check the mod like you would a normal single, or even a 2 stage furnace.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    The unit is a Modulating furnace and I can hear the sound as soon as the
    unit turns on (obviously louder as it hits it's max.). As the unit ramps up the sound increases.

    The guy who checked the gas pressure took about 15 minutes (I watched him do it and we both confirmed the readings on his meter - can't rememeber numbers though).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,058
    Takes me 5 minutes just to set up my stuff for the readings.

    If he checked it in the 3 firing rates he's suppose to, he's faster then me.
    We have one that the inducer itself is alittle noisey.
    Customer doesn't mind it, so we haven't changed it out.

    So it makes trhe noise even before the burner ignites, or after the burner ignites.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13
    We put on about 5 90 elbows on the exaust (max according to specs). I did hear that a common problem with these is the gas pressure and pressure may be too high eventhough specs say it is fine.

    I did see the different firing rates as he measured them.

    Freakin loud - wakes me up in the morning.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,189
    Does the model start with PM or PC?
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event