Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

HVAC for new house

Hi:
    This is my first time on this site, and I am building a new house 2000 sq.ft. bunglow.
    I am planning on installing radiant heating in the complete house, the basement will have a concrete floor, which does not present a problem, but on the first floor I am planning on installing the piping between the wooden joists that will have 23/32" OSB subfloor on them, and which will have 1000 sq.ft of tile, and 1000 sq.ft. of hardwood. The boilers I have researched are Viessman's Vitodens, and Weil-McLain, but have not decided which one to go with. The A/C I am looking at high velocity by the Unico system or the Space Pak. The Heat Recovery Ventilator I have not done much research on any models, but I would like your input.
    The following are the questions I have;
    Does having the piping installed below the subfloor have a huge effect on it's capacity to heat the space above?
    Have there been many problems using a high velocity A/C systems, and which one of the above is preferred?
    I plan on spraying the attice with Icynene insulation, have you heard anything about it?
    Any thoughts on a HRV system?
    Thank you in advance for your thoughts.
    ryanpatr

You should be okay with the under floor radiant, I have had no problems with Unico HiV, if you are in the states try Lifebreath HRV, make sure your HVAC company KNOWS how to install these systems and check to see if he is certified to install them. Nothing can ruin a nice new home more than a baddly installed HVAC system.
    GO GREEN HEAT

I would look into a tankless on demand hot water heater. Takagi makes a good one.
    I have installed several radiant under floor systems that are working beautifully. I always use on demand water heaters. No storage tanks to mess with. can be used for low or high pressure. Definitely use therma-pex piping and prodex insualtion.

I would recommend the Space Pak for the high velocity system.