+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting burned out on controls

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Likes

Getting burned out on controls

I've been involved in some level of the controls industry since I graduated from college (1986). I have been a project manager for the last six years and this stuff is just getting old. I used to be interested in all the new technology but now all I want to do is finish the next job.

Anyone else hit the wall? What did you do to make it interesting again?

Post Likes
    I've done Project Management and IMHO, it's a PITA.
    There are so many other jobs in this industry, find one that interests you.

Post Likes
    Well I am burned out on driving an average of 3 to 4 hrs a day, but I don't know what else I would do.

If you are not doing Tridium Ax I would suggest trying to get involved with it. There is so much to learn, and your imagination is the limit with what you can do with it.

If I was not using AX right now I would probably go back into service.
    Go Rangers!

Post Likes
    Our programmers and techs work with the software, PM's are the babysitters. I make good money doing the job and I will keep on doing it especially when service tech pay is almost half of what I make. I just wondered what keeps you interested in the job.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by whatnoise View Post
    Our programmers and techs work with the software, PM's are the babysitters. I make good money doing the job and I will keep on doing it especially when service tech pay is almost half of what I make. I just wondered what keeps you interested in the job.
    I used to be fascinated with controls but now it's a job. I think at certain age things change and what got you interested is old hat now. I look forward to things I do outside of work and hope I can retire before I die. My dad retired a few years ago and he is as happy as a pig in sh*t.

Post Likes