Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22

    Is Air leakage acceptable?

    I noticed on my new furnace installation that there is a lot of air leakage where they connected the new ductwork to the the outlet on the furnace/coil. It seems like there should have been some sort of sealant. This seems inefficient or I am being too critical. I noticed the leakage when I was standing by the furnace I felt the draft in my face. There are open holes on all of the corners and alot of air leakage on some of the sides as well.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    7,711
    Pictures?
    "The American Republic will endure until the day Congress discovers it can bribe the public with the public's own money.
    - Alexis de Toqueville, 1835

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,004
    no its not acceptable, unless you want to heat/cool your attic

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22
    My furnace is in the basement and I am talking about the ductwork connected to the outlet on top of the furnace as the hot air leaves the furnace and is entering the ductwork. The is air leakage all over.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    7,711
    Air should not leak out of any of the duct work at any point. It's that simple.
    "The American Republic will endure until the day Congress discovers it can bribe the public with the public's own money.
    - Alexis de Toqueville, 1835

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce3301 View Post
    My furnace is in the basement and I am talking about the ductwork connected to the outlet on top of the furnace as the hot air leaves the furnace and is entering the ductwork. The is air leakage all over.
    depending on if the plenum isnt cut to the right size as the supply end of the furnace, it may need to be redone. The Plenum should be Mechanical attached to the furnace as well as Sealed with a good mastic tape around the joints. I'm sure that if you have air leaks at this point, you probably have many other leaks.

    may want to have someone come check it out for you becuase you are literally throwing money out the window

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    415
    How much leakage would you accept from your plumbing system? Just because air doesn't leave a mess doesn't mean it should leak out of every connection. Some day properly sealed ductwork will be standard.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    6,826
    If plumbers installed the plumbing in your home the way the HVAC installers installed the furnace, would you accept the plumbing leaking all over the place? Just because it's leaking air, doesn't make it okay. They should have sealed it.
    If YOU want change, YOU have to first change.

    If you are waiting for the 'other guy' to change first, just remember, you're the 'other guy's' other guy. To continue to expect real change when you keep acting the same way as always, is folly. Won't happen. Real change will only happen when a majority of the people change the way they vote!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    49
    Hey Bruce call your installer and you should get a reply something similar to this If not get tough with them. Expected reply "Those darn apprentices, sometimes they forget to seal the joints. I will have them come back and put some Iron grip 601 mastic on the leaks Mr Customer Sir we are very sorry for the inconvenience." Of course it should not leak LOL

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    oregon
    Posts
    885
    Sounds like a sloppy install. Belive it or not I have heard talk at the parts house counter that is is ok not to seal duct that is in the basement, it helps to heat it!!!! Have the salesman come back and show it to him. A built in hair dryer on your furnace/duct is not effcient!
    Genius = The guy who can do anything...except make a living!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,004
    Quote Originally Posted by geodude View Post
    Sounds like a sloppy install. Belive it or not I have heard talk at the parts house counter that is is ok not to seal duct that is in the basement, it helps to heat it!!!! Have the salesman come back and show it to him. A built in hair dryer on your furnace/duct is not effcient!
    heat the basement, in that case just wire some 120v space heaters to a switch that closes when you open the door to the basement.. or those nifty propane heaters

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event