Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 34
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4

    Heat Pump Keeps Running

    Good Evening To All:
    I have a Heil heat pump, (sorry no model number at hand) and I have what I believe is an unusual problem, as this is my first home with a heat pump. On the heating cycle the blower motor will keep running between cycles and even if I turn off the heat it will still keep running. While this is an occasional problem, when it does happen the only way to turn off the blower motor is by throwing the circuit breaker.

    The unit is about 7 years old and I have had the thermostat replaced as well as the computer board in the air handling unit. The aggravating part about this is it does not happen all of the time, nor has it happened when the service tech has been in our home. Does anyone have any ideas or heard of this type of problem? This is my first post here and I thank all in advance for any information anyone may be able to provide.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,369
    Have you had the thermostat replaced?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    "I have had the thermostat replaced "


    Well,that what he posted???

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,369
    Calm down there. We all make mistakes. I missed that.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    Unfortunately, nothing has changed. This is a foreclosure home purchased in 2003 and shortly after moving in that summer we had to have the blower motor replaced. At that time I did not think much of the problem but now with
    the blower motor running like it does I tend to believe that was the reason the first motor was replaced.

    In addition nothing changed with the replacement of the computer board. I thank you for your interest in my problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    9,548
    Why was the board changed? It sounds like it could only be a couple of things....you might want to try another another service company....
    If everything was always done "by the book"....the book would never change.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,155
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanHughes View Post
    Calm down there. We all make mistakes. I missed that.
    Why do you continue to attempt to answer questions pertaining to HVAC? Just curious.
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,903
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    2,919
    I have seen it in many brands. Caused by a flaky heat sequencer.
    Remember, Air Conditioning begins with AIR.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,369
    Quote Originally Posted by jrbenny View Post
    Why do you continue to attempt to answer questions pertaining to HVAC? Just curious.
    Emailed.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    N.C.
    Posts
    712
    Could be the fan relay going bad.Also check any delay timers.To check sequencer...... if you don't know then call a qualified competent tech and have him check your wiring and your control components

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanHughes View Post
    I'm not a professional
    So don't pretend to be one... No one comes here to get half-baked answers from fellow non-professionals.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lancaster,Ohio
    Posts
    464

    Talking

    I had a problem close to that a few years back...It was a thermostat wire that was shorting out in a staple to the bottom of a floor joice. When someone steped on it, it cause the fan to start to run. I pulled a new wire and the problem was solved!
    IcyFlame

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event