Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    892

    Uploading FX Controllers

    Has anybody been able to upload an FX series controller without the source code?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere, WI
    Posts
    351
    I have uploaded an FX-07, 15 and 16. I had the code but had to upload it in order to explore the points. I uploaded them into a new file.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    892
    Thanks ddcfreek. I had a problem with my laptop and lost a couple of newly commissioned jobs and of course I had no backup. They are both on PMI systems and I really don't want to re-do all of my model files and GPL.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere, WI
    Posts
    351
    Quote Originally Posted by The Reaper View Post
    I really don't want to re-do all of my model files and GPL.
    That would really be a chore, even for a simple application. Doing anything twice sucks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3
    Hi Reaper,

    could you tell me please which version of FX TOOLS you use.

    Thanks in advance

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    892
    Good Morning iraklisn2.

    I am currently using FX Builder version 4.2.0. My N2 Comm Pro is version 3.1.3

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    136
    Reaper are you refering to uploading or downloading? what version of 15? The only controlers I've been able to upload are the new 16's. I have a 15 in a building that I would love to upload and edit ( not my customer origionaly, so I don't have the code).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere, WI
    Posts
    351
    Quote Originally Posted by aztra View Post
    what version of 15? The only controlers I've been able to upload are the new 16's. I have a 15 in a building that I would love to upload and edit ( not my customer origionaly, so I don't have the code).
    I have uploaded the "Universal" FX-15 revision "V000" and "V001".

    My understanding is that the application has to be saved as "make public" in order to be uploaded. I have also heard that if it is not public it will ask for a password. I would like to know how to lock out my controllers like this if anyone knows.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    23

    Wink

    Hi
    Here is some info

    Customer ID

    Customer ID is used to distinguish between the:

    • generic user (MAKE PUBLIC ID)
    • Demo ID
    • Customer/Private Specific ID


    The Customer ID protects the controller downloaded with a
    custom-developed application. The Customer ID also protects the
    application source code from being edited by unauthorized users.

    The Make Public ID allows you to:

    • Read all public application source files (saved with the very same
    Public ID).
    • Download these applications to standard Facility Explorer
    controllers, which remain downloadable from whoever has the
    same Public ID.


    The Demo ID allows you to:

    • Read demo applications only (for example, applications that have
    been saved with the Demo ID).
    • Download the demo applications to demo cases or demo
    controllers.


    The Customer/Private Specific ID allows you to:

    • Make the application source files readable only by users who have
    the same Specific ID installed on their computer


    • Download the applications to standard Facility Explorer
    controllers, which then become customer specific and
    downloadable only with applications saved with the same customer
    specific ID.
    To receive a Customer Specific ID, contact your local Johnson Controlsฎ
    representative.
    Hope this helps

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    41
    I believe Aztra is correct. The only controller you can download/upload FROM is the 16. And that has to be with FX CommPro N2 3.1.3 or later.


    Quote Originally Posted by aztra View Post
    Reaper are you referring to uploading or downloading? what version of 15? The only controllers I've been able to upload are the new 16's. I have a 15 in a building that I would love to upload and edit ( not my customer originally, so I don't have the code).
    Do the best you are capable of, be totally honest, die with a smile on your face!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    892
    Hi Everyone,
    I just spoke to JCI tech support in Milwaukee and they told me that the only way to upload an FX15 is to use the programming key. However, you cannot put the uploaded file on your laptop. Looks like I'll be doing some reprogramming this weekend. Thank you all very much for the technical support.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Somewhere, WI
    Posts
    351
    Quote Originally Posted by The Reaper View Post
    Hi Everyone,
    I just spoke to JCI tech support in Milwaukee and they told me that the only way to upload an FX15 is to use the programming key. However, you cannot put the uploaded file on your laptop. Looks like I'll be doing some reprogramming this weekend. Thank you all very much for the technical support.
    Sounds like you found someone at JCI who didn't know what he was talking about. Imagine that....

    I don't have a program key, I only have CommPro ver 3.1.2, and I HAVE successfully uploaded an FX-15.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    192
    Quote Originally Posted by ddcfreek View Post
    Sounds like you found someone at JCI who didn't know what he was talking about. Imagine that....

    I don't have a program key, I only have CommPro ver 3.1.2, and I HAVE successfully uploaded an FX-15.
    You are mixing up the terms "uploading" with "downloading".

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event