Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 24 volt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    19

    24 volt

    Is there a company that manufactures forced air gas fired furnaces that have the blower motor running on 24volt DC?If so has anyone had good or bad experiences with them?:

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Western U.S.
    Posts
    34
    Are you talking about a variable speed blower motor? ICM?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    19
    Yes I've been told is is a variable speed

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    6,826
    Quote Originally Posted by The Traveler View Post
    Are you talking about a variable speed blower motor? ICM?
    Still requires a 120 or 240 volt input.
    If YOU want change, YOU have to first change.

    If you are waiting for the 'other guy' to change first, just remember, you're the 'other guy's' other guy. To continue to expect real change when you keep acting the same way as always, is folly. Won't happen. Real change will only happen when a majority of the people change the way they vote!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    None run on 24v.
    ECM motors use 24v control signals to the module on the motor, but have a line voltage input for powering the motor. The line voltage is rectified to DC, then is pulsed to the motor windings. The module varies the frequency of the pules to control the RPM.
    The X13 motors have "speed taps" that are 24v inputs to select the speed, but have a line voltage input too. The X13 motor is still an ECM motor, just with a module that only runs the motor at fixed speeds.

    Both types of ECM motors are far more efficient than regular single phase PCS or shaded pole motors, and have very significant performance advantages.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    19
    That sounds like it's right.I was told this type of motor was far more efficent and I would notice the savings on my hydro bill.Is there a specific manufacturer that uses that type of motor or will it just be specified in the the details of the furnace and what specifically should I be looking for that says it's that type of motor?Thanks for all input thus far.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event