Thread: New on Lontalk

New on Lontalk

hi, i'm new to lonworks / lontalk. i had read quite some number of document but still few blur with this protocol. can someone explain about this protocol.

all the while i'm using modbus. in modbus, we need to configure the comm. properties (baud rate, data bit, parity, etc) and the device(slave) address. all the data is based on the memory mapping.

how about the lontalk?

1. i know the baud rate is fixed at 78kbps when using ft-10. is this true?
    2. if i got a pc and i would like to poll some data on lontalk device, what hardware and software i need?
    3. is it a must that to use a binding software (lonmaker) to bind the devices on the lon network? e.g. if i got a scada and i need to get data from say 3 lon devices, how do i do that? do i need to bind those 3 devices with my scada? what actually binding is doing? where is the binding information stored? scada or at each device?

i hope someone can clear my doubt. thanks in advance.

1. baud rate is fixed
    2. need anFT10 interface such as an Echelon U10 usb device. Many types and manufacturers available.
    3. Must use LNS network management software to bind devices such as LonMaker, LonWatcher or Network Integrator. Others available. Info stored in database and devices. Not sure about SCADA.

3. is it a must that to use a binding software (lonmaker) to bind the devices on the lon network? e.g. if i got a scada and i need to get data from say 3 lon devices, how do i do that? do i need to bind those 3 devices with my scada? what actually binding is doing? where is the binding information stored? scada or at each device?