Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 41
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5

    So - what was the outcome?

    I found this posting - after buying the same unit from Lowes. I haven't started installation yet, and I'm curious as to how this ended for you.

  2. #28
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    After reading the thread you might want to return it now.

    I would suggest going to a dealer and have them recommend / install something. Then if something goes wrong you have someone to turn to besides the 18 y/o who works in the seasonal dept at Lowes.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    oregon
    Posts
    885
    Get a vented unit, life is short, why make it shorter?
    Genius = The guy who can do anything...except make a living!

  4. #30

    Hmm No problems for me, yet...(knock on wood)

    Hello, this is my first post to this site. I found this site by doing a Google search on my unit's model number. I was looking to see if the manufacturer made a blower unit for the gas log.

    I wanted to state that I am not having the trouble mentioned by the other owners/posters. I used copper to supply the gas log (to the shut-off valve), then used 1/2" [yellow, heavy-style] flex hose to hook to the unit itself. I really did not like having to bush-down to 3/8" at the gas log's 'entrance', but that is the way it has to be....

    The back burner of my gas log lights within about 1-1.5 second (almost instantly) of initial fire-up. I have not removed any logs (ie: log #4) in order to get the back burner to light quickly.

    I am not 'taking up' for this unit...just wanted to state that mine works fine (right now). My house is peer & beam, so the supply [line] is new; and [to my knowledge] done properly. (not saying that you guys' install was not done properly..again, just talking) I had a guy helping me that used to work with this-type stuff all the time..

    I bought this fireplace and wooden enclosure at Lowes, just like you guys did. All of it was 50% off. We do not use this as a primary heat source, but rather something to simply "back-up to", every now and then. Kind of an "accent piece". It would really worry me, though, if the back burner did not light very quickly after the front one did/does.

    My Model # is: SSID280T, Serial #: 403106'x'

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    oregon
    Posts
    885
    Quote Originally Posted by TxFarmer View Post
    Hello, this is my first post to this site. I found this site by doing a Google search on my unit's model number. I was looking to see if the manufacturer made a blower unit for the gas log.

    I wanted to state that I am not having the trouble mentioned by the other owners/posters. I used copper to supply the gas log (to the shut-off valve), then used 1/2" [yellow, heavy-style] flex hose to hook to the unit itself. I really did not like having to bush-down to 3/8" at the gas log's 'entrance', but that is the way it has to be....

    The back burner of my gas log lights within about 1-1.5 second (almost instantly) of initial fire-up. I have not removed any logs (ie: log #4) in order to get the back burner to light quickly.

    I am not 'taking up' for this unit...just wanted to state that mine works fine (right now). My house is peer & beam, so the supply [line] is new; and [to my knowledge] done properly. (not saying that you guys' install was not done properly..again, just talking) I had a guy helping me that used to work with this-type stuff all the time..

    I bought this fireplace and wooden enclosure at Lowes, just like you guys did. All of it was 50% off. We do not use this as a primary heat source, but rather something to simply "back-up to", every now and then. Kind of an "accent piece". It would really worry me, though, if the back burner did not light very quickly after the front one did/does.

    My Model # is: SSID280T, Serial #: 403106'x'
    Go back to Lowes, and buy at least two CO detectors.
    Genius = The guy who can do anything...except make a living!

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    anywhere I want to
    Posts
    164
    Talked to the company rep and found out they are having a problem with some of the units. They are looking into a diffferent burner as a replacement with closer holes in it. Been about 3 weeks and no news yet

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5

    blower for SSID280T

    Hi TxFarmer - I also had the same question. Lowes is selling DESA blowers right next to the fireplaces, and thought one would fit. Customer service at ProComm has not yet responded to e-mail inquiry. I did get someone to answer the phone at their Customer Service, and he wasn't sure. You can't find this model on their web site, which hasn't been updated for a few years based on some of the references for things "coming in 2006".

    The suggestion for having CO detectors is right on - whether you own this fireplace or not!

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5

    SSID280T blower

    FINALLY - got someone to answer the phone in the sales dept. The final word is that this fireplace is not compatible with a blower. I'm apparently not the first to notice that Lowes stocks blowers right next to the fireplaces and that they've told customers that they're compatible. Good luck - and thanks to TxFarmer for sharing your installation notes.

  9. #35
    My parents got one at Lowes also. Far to many problems with the unit. We got a blower that was suppose to work with it, but it didn't have any mounting method, the cables were too short to reach the correct locatoins and it blew in the wrong direction. After many trips back and forth and trying other units that were suppose to work I got one that fit and the cables were long enough and laid out correctly that the unit cold be installed but I had to strip it down and rewire it so it would spin in the right direction.

    Then there are the flame issues. The pilot is impossible to light with the built in lighter. When using an external flame you can light it but the flame doesn't want to attach to the pilot orafice, you have to blow lightly on it with a puff to get it to catch. When you turn it on the flame will not wrap to the back without another light puff of air. It will only stay on if the valve is set to 4 or 5. You can't turn it on at 1 or 2 and at 3 it will go on but won't stay on for long before it goes out again.

    The manufacturer support is terrible. They deny warranty coverage and accountablity for everything and are of no help to the service person when they called them.

    And all this after spending several times the cost of the unit and its mantle on getting the propane etc installed.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5
    Bummer for you... I must have really been lucky. While I was disappointed with the blower situation, this unit has lit quickly and properly each and every time, and radiates heat like crazy even at a modest setting.

    As it's been almost a year since I've been on this thread, my memory is a little fuzzy, but I seem to remember someone suggesting that if the gas lines had too much resistance (too small or too much flex tubing) that this could be a cause of the lighting issues. I had my gas line run with 1" tubing, and only a 3' segment of flex tube between the 1" line and the fireplace coupling. I also installed a moisture trap.

    And, for the record, I have a functioning CO detector on the ceiling, 20' from the fireplace - not a peep.

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5
    BTW - I'm running mine on natural gas. One thing I did notice a year ago when installing the unit was that the valve you have to switch between gas types was a very stiff, and if you weren't careful, you'd twist some inner tubing. In fact, mine was so stiff, that I actually had to remove the knob and use vise grips to loosen and twist the valve. Believe me, after that, I was REALLY suspicious on the first lighting.

    Could it be that you twisted the knob and not the valve itself, and aren't on the correct gas selection?? Just a thought...

  12. #38

    Lots of hose

    By default the unit is set up for propane which is what is being used so the selector wasn't touched. The installation does have quite a bit of yellow flex hose on the end of copper tubing which was used for the remainder of the installation. From the tank outside there is probably about 20' of tubing in total. They also added a shutoff valve (1/4 turn with a removable key) to satisfy local regulations on the side of the mantel next to the main inlet so there could be quite a bit of resistance in total.

  13. #39
    i purchased this same unit last year and it worked 4 or 5 times then we did not use it until christmas eve. i tried every thing and i am not getting and gas at the pilot lite. I have cleaned it all areas and there is still no gas at the pilot. I went to the mfg site and they suggest to play with the regulator spring and see if its stuck. I only use this system for effect on cold nights. I would never sleep and let the unit on.

    I hooked it up with lp gas and 1/2" flex tubing to valve. Tank..regulator...valve to unit connection.
    ACleaned it out and waited for air to purge but no gas to pilot. Any answers?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event