Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question proper location of filter

Is there any advantage or disadvantage to having the return air filter at the end of the return plenum rather than at the beginning of the return plenum? In particular, I'm asking whether one location is more efficient than the other in terms of filtration and maximizing air flow.

I'm not a pro, but I would think the closer the filter is to the unit, the better results you will get, since there is less distance for the air to travel after it has been filtered. (since the returns could be dusty or have air leaks, etc)

I always prefer at the furnace for a filter to me it seems more efficient like in a return drop boot that comes off the furnace they return air drop boot is popular in MN cause most furnaces are in the basement here. Plus if you put it at other end you gonna make sure it is picking up all the return in the duct from the house other wise it does no good if you know what I mean. That is my opinion.

Filters go in the return air plenum at the furnace. Why filter the air than have it travel another 10' once again picking up dust and who knows what else!

What does your furnace installation manual say?

If your looking to maximize air flow, look at what you are using to filter rather than where its done

Hmm

Quote Originally Posted by mobileguy View Post
    Filters go in the return air plenum at the furnace. Why filter the air than have it travel another 10' once again picking up dust and who knows what else!
    If the ducts are sealed, how does it pick up dust in the ducts? Looks like both options are equally good. Hopefully a pro will chime in at some point and confirm that.

Quote Originally Posted by charles2 View Post
    If the ducts are sealed, how does it pick up dust in the ducts? Looks like both options are equally good. Hopefully a pro will chime in at some point and confirm that.