Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Where to Start with Wireless

I'm a former professional computer programmer, and before that a thermal engineer (but not HVAC). Unfortunately I know nothing about current control systems and the names in most of the thread titles mean nothing to me.

Most of the systems I have seem claim to provide an interface to make it easy for most customers to use. The thing is, I want more control than those things are going to give me. What I'm designing is a residential system,
    but it will be fairly exotic, with multiple heat sources, thermal storage, and so on.

What I want is to buy is wireless sensors and controls and an interface to a computer. As long as those things have some sort of API (application programming interface), I can handle the programming from there and use the incoming data to tell the controls what to do.

Ideally (tell me if I'm just dreaming) there would be little thermal sensors which I could access through an existing wireless network, using HTTP or perhaps a proprietary protocol. Anything as long as it's well defined. There would also be valves and switches I could control the same way.

What's the closest I can some to this? Ideas?

You're just dreaming.

But seriously, wireless sensors and such are available in a variety of protocols. Zigby seems popular. I've used Thermokon wireless sensors which is what Distech Controls uses and they have some wireless-ready controllers as well. The bottom line is that we can almost always run a wire for less than the cost of the wireless, especially given the additional complexities of wireless (like will my signal get there?). Anyway, the easiest way to get the data from these devices into something programmable is to buy a, you guessed it, a programmable controller. There are lots of those out there. I use Lonworks and you might want to look into it and the new i.LON Smart Server which is fully programmable, from what I understand. See http://www.echelon.com