Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Suggestions on how to find installer ??

Ok, cards on table:
    I'm an engineer with fair knowledge of electrics & hydronic systems (we call it central heating)...A little about cooling.... (Not a thing we really need here)...
    I live in UK which doesn't help, but am coming to Florida January.
    Our STR villa in Florida is about due a replacement heat pump system.
    Presently 14 year old Carrier 2.5ton.
    I've spent hours on this forum (& others) & have decided Amana 18seer would suit. Like warranty, scroll compressor.
    Know that good instal critical.
    Question: How do I find a decent installer ??
    Have worked for a corporate most of my life & know that, even though there are good & bad employees, it's a toss up whether the guy you get is any good & you can never be sure that you'll get the same guy next time...
    Would prefer to employ a one-man-band, usually a lot more concientious about workmanship & rely on word of mouth for business.
    Watched last contractor replace contactor in condenser unit last breakdown, did a fair job but then he decided to check freon... top off schrader valve (you probably use different name) pressed in pin - "hiss" - Yup, plenty of gas .... I don't want that guy near me again !!!
    Any suggestions how to find the "right" guy ??

If you tell us where in Florida your villa is I am sure you will get some help with your question.

Failing that, when you get here ask your neighbours who they use.

Lindfields, Kissimmee...
    Tried home owner's forums but had one reply...
    Unfortunately, am only 'over' for 2 weeks, so will have to arrange instal from this end in advance so can be there for the actual 'fix'...

Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Call or email contractors in the area,asking if they can and will do a ManualJ,S,and D,all from www.acca.org

Keep trying until you find one that can and will.