Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    louisville ky
    Posts
    107

    is this safe to diy

    i was thinking about getting a outdoor temp sensor for my t-stat. i know there is only two wires is that something i can safely diy or should i call someone out to do it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,119
    Since this is not a DIY site. Your not going to get many to say its ok to do it.

    Its not hard to do.
    But if you do mess up. It could cost you some money for a new stat, control board and transformer.
    Its your call.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    241
    I ran my own, also took a bit of efforts: soldering short wires from OAS, drilling hole in the brick wall, running separate hole to t-stat, fishing wire, making sure I am not running parallel to any power, climing 15ft so I can attach it to eaves etc. Judge own skills.

    In the end all I got was outside air temperature. Don't know if this was worth it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    9,548
    Quote Originally Posted by chrism9232 View Post
    i was thinking about getting a outdoor temp sensor for my t-stat. i know there is only two wires is that something i can safely diy or should i call someone out to do it?
    There's more to it than hooking up two wires. If this was the case you wouldn't ever need a pro. If you want the sensor to actually perform correctly, and not just read the od temp, you definitely want a pro there. Make sure you tell them what you're wanting to do when you call, as in lock out aux heat or stage a furnace to save you $$$.
    If everything was always done "by the book"....the book would never change.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    louisville ky
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by smokin68 View Post
    There's more to it than hooking up two wires. If this was the case you wouldn't ever need a pro. If you want the sensor to actually perform correctly, and not just read the od temp, you definitely want a pro there. Make sure you tell them what you're wanting to do when you call, as in lock out aux heat or stage a furnace to save you $$$.
    i just want to see what the temp is outside

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    415
    I have a wireless weather station. Much more fun than just outside temp reading.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    louisville ky
    Posts
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by mbarson View Post
    I have a wireless weather station. Much more fun than just outside temp reading.
    what all does it do and were can i get one

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    415
    You can google them. Here is one http://www.lacrossetechnology.com/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    11,347
    Quote Originally Posted by chrism9232 View Post
    what all does it do and were can i get one
    If all you want is outdoor temp, go to Wally World and get an Accu-Rite digital indoor/outdoor thermometer/hygrometer station with wireless remote sensor. The one I got came under 30 bucks, has time of day (set automatically be atomic clock in Colorado), calendar, moon phase, indoor and outdoor temp/humidity, and trending for both indoor and outdoor measurements. Not bad for the price.

    Outdoor temp. sensors for thermostats are most useful for control purposes, not just wanting to know how hot or cold it is outside.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,119
    If you just want to know OD temp.

    For about 30 bucks I got a atomic clock that had a wireless OD temp sensor and built in ID temp sensor.
    I can tell the OD temp, ID temp, and the time at one glance.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event