Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 47
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Montgomery, NY
    Posts
    228

    Fieldpiece meter problems have you had any?

    Had to send my LT16A back for repairs, display locked at 0.00 MZ no matter where you set it. Still under warranty. Really like this meter true rms great for variable speed motors.
    WE LIVE IN THE LAND OF THE FREE,
    ONLY BECAUSE OF THE BRAVE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    293
    i have the hs-36, and honestly im disappointed, and so are a couple other people i know who have it. say im looking at a t-stat thats not calling for cooling, between r and y1 ill get crazy readings like 42 , 12.454343, 92, 360v etc. it wont beep like when theres power but its very annoying.

    also, for continuity, unless its an imaculate connection, it wont read anything on brand new contactors, relays, etc./

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    So.Cal
    Posts
    447
    Overall, I am satisfied with all my FP instruments. They have good customer service from what I know.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greenville,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,903
    I won one at a supply house customer appreciation day and used it for about a year then it started acting really funny.It would come on sometimes then sometimes it would not then it lied to me one day said that there was no voltage there,and there was.From that point I went that day and bought me an Fluke 902 and threw the fieldpiece away and went back to my Fluke products.I have had nothing but good service out of the Fluke meters that I own.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    458
    Wish Fluke would adopt the easy pick amp probe that Fieldpiece and UEI have, instead of the clunky red clamp they have. That's a big reason I like both the others even tho I own 2 Flukes.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Mount Gilead, Ohio
    Posts
    170
    only problem ive had with my fieldpiece is where the leads plug into the meter the positive came loose from the circuit board. it was out of warranty so i just soldered it back on and havent had any problems since. Ive been using mine for about 4 years now

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    68
    I've said it once and I will say it again: "Fieldpiece are for amatuers, Fluke's are for professionals. Enough said!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Mount Gilead, Ohio
    Posts
    170
    Quote Originally Posted by jschaible View Post
    I've said it once and I will say it again: "Fieldpiece are for amatuers, Fluke's are for professionals. Enough said!
    havent had a single customer not let me work on there equipment because i wasnt using a fluke

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    458
    Quote Originally Posted by jschaible View Post
    I've said it once and I will say it again: "Fieldpiece are for amatuers, Fluke's are for professionals. Enough said!

    And Ford is better than Chevy is better than Dodge is better than Ford is better than Dodge is better than.................... All quality products that depend on brand loyalty for future sales. They charge the customer for the privilege of paying for the advertising that brought the customer to them in the first place.

  10. #10
    I own a fluke 52 and a FP SC-76 I like the features of the fluke but it craps out at the slightest hint of mist rain or any moisture the fp keeps right on trucking. Yeah I should be more careful with it but I've got sh**t to do and the fp takes all the crap I throw at and keeps working. just my $.02

  11. #11
    I have went through 3 FP SC 76's. I recently bought the Fluke 116 and I love it. The quality of the Fluke is so much better. There are also more accessories for the Fluke.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Henryville IN
    Posts
    248

    Angry

    Threw my fieldpiece in the garbage today. It double crossed me three times this year. First time I called maintenance at a hospital to tell them to have their electrician find out why I didn't have power to a condenser on the roof, they got a kick out of that one, what were you smoking you've got 240 there. Second time it failed to pick up a grounded leg on a compressor, thank God someone else picked it up with thier meter or else it would of cost us alot of wasted time. Yesterday I was doing battle with an electronic actuator when I picked up 175 volts of control voltage, bizarre!! Of course I jumped the gun an told the boss I'd found the problem, wrong. At least this time I went back to the van I got my fluke 16, and quess what 116 volts to the actuator. Had to divorce the *****, just couldn't trust her.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    155
    blewbyu2.. call Fieldpiece and ask for Travis. You will be taken care of..

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event